Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why did the Avatar thread close?

Years of Experience

Default Why did the Avatar thread close?

Just curious as to why it closed. I think COLOC8 brings up some interesting points and questions about our "professional" industry, some of the same points and questions that I have been asking for many years. As long as we continue to portray ourselves as rough and tumble mercenaries, and make little attempt to portray ourselves as the true professionals that we all are we will always be seen the way she sees us (and the same way many, many others see us as well). I know we have the "right" to put a "F*CK OBAMA" (or F*CK BUSH if you are so inclined) bumper sticker on our vehicle and proudly display it while we drive around (not on a company vehicle mind you), but you do understand the public's perception of that action and the overall perception of the driver, right? I was amazed at the backlash that she got when I read her post as a simple question and nothing more.

Until we start showing responsible behavior in every corner of our lives we are doomed to stay at the bottom of the heap - everything will continue to roll downhill. The first step has to be up to improve where we as an industry are, and that first step up might simply be changing an avatar to improve the perception of what we post. It's not "giving in to the man" or "censorship" or giving up some fought for "right" to offer simple respect when a fellow colleage and damage prevention professional posts a concern or opinion is it?
    Job Applicant: What does this job pay?
    Employer: I'm going to pay you just what you are worth!
    Job Applicant: I don't think I can work for that......

Conservative Meanie ifinditunderground's Avatar
    Years of Experience
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Why did the Avatar thread close?