Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 39

Thread: Why can't you find it?

  1. #16
    Senior Member sprayandpray's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    2,120
    Rep Power
    94

    Default Re: Why can't you find it?

    Could use shove a metallic tape in the closest access point and trace it? I know they make 200' ft ones.
    I might not be as good as I once was, but I'm as good once as I ever was !


    It's better to be Pissed Off than Pissed On or Stood On and Pissed Off Of !


    The views expressed on this website/blog are mine alone and do not reflect the views of my employer. or my wife , if that matters.

  2. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    around the corner
    Posts
    548
    Years of Experience
    21
    Rep Power
    30

    Default Re: Why can't you find it?

    Mke here's my 2 cents. Look what they have invested in this locate already a boatload of time and money bite the bullet and rent or find somebody to demo a vector bar. I have seen the within 3 or 4 inches at 20 ft several times on att long haul fiber in my area. I have never seen it not lock on yet and several miles is parallel and crossing rr tracks.

  3. #18
    Senior Member Bad Robot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    454
    Years of Experience
    15
    Rep Power
    26

    Default Re: Why can't you find it?

    Quote Originally Posted by orangeboots View Post
    Mke here's my 2 cents. Look what they have invested in this locate already a boatload of time and money bite the bullet and rent or find somebody to demo a vector bar. I have seen the within 3 or 4 inches at 20 ft several times on att long haul fiber in my area. I have never seen it not lock on yet and several miles is parallel and crossing rr tracks.
    That'll do the trick!

  4. #19
    Mke
    Mke is offline
    Senior Member Mke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Republic of Washington
    Posts
    1,536
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    34
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: Why can't you find it?

    So, Friday afternoon on the fith pot hole we finally seen the conduits. Conduits are down at 13.7'. All our conventional locators... 810,850,Vloc,Rd400, and we got an RD 4k out on friday, all missed the mark by about 2.5' The only way we were able to get it was with Level 3 calling in one of their bore crews, and had them use their "Deep Bore" sonde. The sonde looked like a normal bore sonde, and they were still having fits with it near the proposed crossing.

    The bore crew gave a depth of 17.5' and was within 6" of center conduits. The Good News: It was found. The bad news: Wasn't found by my equipment.


    To my defense....it was down past 13'. Thats got to count for something.


    On a related side note.... So we bust our hump finding this conduit so they can start the "Jack'n'bore" accross the tracks. Found out last week that the City doesn't like their submittal for their welding on the pipe they are using so it is put on an indefinate hold till they figure out a welding plan.

    Go figure.

  5. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Look behind you..
    Posts
    32
    Rep Power
    7

    Default Re: Why can't you find it?

    musta been something underground nearby screwing with the locate signal. i did a favor for a farmer once and marked a county field tile crossing a gravel road. it was 28' at its deepest point. i use a rd4000 reciever and dynatel transmitter. they found the depth and locate marks dead on. used null antenna.
    Last edited by Locaatwhiz; April 23rd, 2012 at 03:07 PM.

  6. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    31
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Why can't you find it?

    Who makes a vector bar and is it called something else? Not much comes up but an article on Radiodetection's website. I can't find one for sale there either or anywhere.

  7. #22
    Mke
    Mke is offline
    Senior Member Mke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Republic of Washington
    Posts
    1,536
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    34
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: Why can't you find it?

    Not that I feel guilty.... but the locate was inside a rail yard. We were inbetween 6 sets of tracks, and the fiber line paralleled the rail within 5'.

    Ok, I feel a little guilty, but not sure why, since it wasn't our line, not our utility being installed. It just happens to be on our property.

    mke

  8. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    around the corner
    Posts
    548
    Years of Experience
    21
    Rep Power
    30

    Default Re: Why can't you find it?

    vector bars are made by rd for att may sell to anybody not sure. They confirm the locate some how. They are very accurate down to about 25 or 30 ft in my experince

  9. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    31
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Why can't you find it?


  10. #25
    Member Jcbro86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    68
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Why can't you find it?

    Quote Originally Posted by sniper113 View Post
    Come on Man! I get this is a very difficult situation but you and the client need to find the line. Leaving it up to the excavator and marking it wide isn't the answer. Jointly is the only way this one is going to be worked out without damage to the facility or a ton of wasted time by the excavator.
    I don't know about everyone else, but i'll work with a contractor as much as they are willing to work with me. if they complain about the "inability" of the locate firm to find the line, then they are starting to shut doors as far as i am concerned. if it was me and they wanted to make arrangements to excavate the area slowly while i stayed hooked up and attempted to give them better information then that is completely acceptable to me, but i think the problem with this particular locate if i'm reading it right is that they cant dig up the whole railway easment. conversely if they want to get an attitude, i would have little incentive to help the contractor out any more than covering the utility owner's facility in a way that is acceptable to the owner.
    "You can never trust AT&T to do the intelligent thing..." - SM&P Lead Tech

  11. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    29
    Rep Power
    7

    Default Re: Why can't you find it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mke View Post
    Not that I feel guilty.... but the locate was inside a rail yard. We were inbetween 6 sets of tracks, and the fiber line paralleled the rail within 5'.

    Ok, I feel a little guilty, but not sure why, since it wasn't our line, not our utility being installed. It just happens to be on our property.

    mke
    I hope you were protected by work signs and derails. Anything could happen in a rail yard.

  12. #27
    Mke
    Mke is offline
    Senior Member Mke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Republic of Washington
    Posts
    1,536
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    34
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: Why can't you find it?

    Quote Originally Posted by TMINTH View Post
    I hope you were protected by work signs and derails. Anything could happen in a rail yard.
    Isn't that a given? Even though the rail was shut down for the work, we still had a flagman onsite watching over us

  13. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    29
    Rep Power
    7

    Default Re: Why can't you find it?

    Just making sure. Out of all the jobs I've had, the railroad seemed to be most concerned with safety out of all the others. So many ridiculous rules it'd make your head spin. If I ever had to locate in one, I'd have kept my head on a swivel.

  14. #29
    Mke
    Mke is offline
    Senior Member Mke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Republic of Washington
    Posts
    1,536
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    34
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: Why can't you find it?

    yeah, I work for an agency that owns Rail yards, Shipping facilities, and Airfields..... Between the 3 I don't know which one has more safety guidelines.

    I do have to say that the Rail Road Companies have enough stupid rules so they can bust your balls for every little thing. No Side shields on your safety glasses? Wrong Color of Safety Vest? Seamless safety toed boots? Yes, I've been busted for all of those. Yes I had safety glasses on. Yes I had an Ansi Class II vest. Yes I had Safety toed boots, they just wern't seamless.

    Go Figure

    Mke

  15. #30
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    29
    Rep Power
    7

    Default Re: Why can't you find it?

    When I worked for one, I was so paranoid about breaking a rule, I couldn't concentrate on learning my actual job. There are so many rules that it's not possible to keep track of them all. I once got written up for breaking a rule based off a BS interpretation by the trainmaster. Turns out I was right, but I kept the write-up. Be careful out there, those are scary places. Ever watch Unstoppable? Based off a true story that happened not far from where I live for the same outfit I used to work for.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •