Thread: Traceable sewer lines.

Default Traceable sewer lines.

I am not a professional line locater but serve as the vice-chairman and tech rep to of the local Municipal sewer authority. Our main plant was installed in 1988 without tracer wires or tracer tape.

This summer we expanded our service area with two gravity lines and two directional bored force mains. The gravity lines were installed with “traceable tracer tape” and the force mains have tracer wires. We also amended our rules include home laterals be installed with tracer wire as-well. On the house laterals we started using THHN #12 solid wire until the local electrical supplier ran out of solid and had to switch to stranded.

My questions
    1.Our local one-call rep told me that the tracer tape is unreliable to trace in a few months to years and is only good to warn someone digging they are near a sewer-line. What is your experience with tracer tape.

2.Any comments on using stranded wire instead of solid?

3.The tap is an 8 foot stub off of the gravity main without access to the tracer tape what is the best way to terminate the tracer wire there is no access without digging up the lateral at the tap. It is assessable at the house wall at the clean out.

4.I recently bought a used Metrotech 480B locater off eBay it is like new even had the red protective cap on the ground spike! Our city water is brought in from the next town and they will only mark to the curb box so I did an informal locate for a contractor installing sewer lateral on the new system and it worked like a charm did a direct connect to the cap on the curb box.

Thanks

Years of Experience
    15+

Default Re: Traceable sewer lines.

Not much tape in ground where I work but the last one was cut because contractor didn’t understand it was used for locating so now it don’t tone

Stranded wire chance for more corrosion = crappy tone years done the road