Thread: RD 8000 Coupler(ring clamp)

Years of Experience

Default RD 8000 Coupler(ring clamp)

I've been using the RD8000 for about 6 months now and I am on my third coupler. Has anyone else had problems with the couplers? I know the springs in them are very week and they fall off the cable I'm hooked up to all the time. I don't know if falling too much is wrecking them or what. They still work on real shallow stuff but anything over a couple feet down won't tone at all.

Default Re: RD 8000 Coupler(ring clamp)

Quote Originally Posted by Goldenboy View Post
    I've been using the RD8000 for about 6 months now and I am on my third coupler. Has anyone else had problems with the couplers? I know the springs in them are very week and they fall off the cable I'm hooked up to all the time. I don't know if falling too much is wrecking them or what. They still work on real shallow stuff but anything over a couple feet down won't tone at all.
    we've had these on our crew now for about 2 years after the district 86'd the subsite 950 (still a better phone and tv locator in my opinion). haven't had much issue locating w/ the RD coupler but same clamping issues. i now carry a large rubber band in my equipment bag to secure the coupler and it seems to do the trick. i also scrape the connector ends w/ high grit sandpaper or emory board every now and then to help get a better signal. as a side note, RD leads are pieces of shit.

Senior Member FailedSafetyAudit's Avatar
    Years of Experience

I also had problems with the RD clamps but it was back when I was using the RD4000. The clamps are exactly the same in this generation if I'm not mistaken.

I have had problems toning out telephone manhole systems that would give shitty or no tone with a clamp connection, then I would take off the clamp and put the box up on the telephone riser and then get a good tone, so either it was my clamp that was not working or maybe even the female connector on the transmitter that was broken.