Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question on grounding methods in the roadway

Default Question on grounding methods in the roadway

I am relitively new to locating and was wondering what is the best method in which to ground the transmitter when in the roadway with no access to soil and a groundstake (ie. in the asphalt or concrete). Thanks.

Default Re: Question on grounding methods in the roadway

This probably dumb to respond since I'm a newb here, too. But, I have a roll of soft 14ga wire I use to extend the reach of my "transmitter" to the ground stake or to the line I'm tracing. Just a suggestion. I'll wait and see what the real locators post.

Years of Experience
    Blog Entries

Sounds like a real locator responded.
    "Change does not always equal progress."

ditto.
    I might not be as good as I once was, but I'm as good once as I ever was !

It's better to be Pissed Off than Pissed On or Stood On and Pissed Off Of !

The views expressed on this website/blog are mine alone and do not reflect the views of my employer. or my wife , if that matters.

Conservative Meanie ifinditunderground's Avatar
    Years of Experience
    Blog Entries

What are you hooking to? What surface features are surrounding your hookup point? What utility are you trying to send your signal into? Or, is this just a general question?

Yes, the real locator has arrived.

LMAO! Take that Yahoo.
    Now where did I put that valid dig ticket??
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Mental Illness."
    "America isn't free, in America you are free to follow the rules." -Anthony Cumia

Years of Experience

as Ifindit.. asked I would have to wonder the same thing?????
    Quote Originally Posted by ifinditunderground View Post
    What are you hooking to? What surface features are surrounding your hookup point? What utility are you trying to send your signal into? Or, is this just a general question?

Yes, the real locator has arrived.

LMAO! Take that Yahoo.