Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Pleese Educayte Me!

  1. #1
    Senior Member Nb22x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    America
    Posts
    121
    Years of Experience
    7
    Rep Power
    10

    Question Pleese Educayte Me!

    Some questions about best practices...
    Just started locating on my own and have some questions!

    What is a good way to locate a metal enclosed pole drop when you're on an intersection and there is no PED nearby?
    Unable to ring clamp, and Direct connect gives no signal...

    Where do those standalone electric meters normally go?

    What is the best way to ground on a gas meter when its all concrete?
    Also, Can you Ring clamp on a metal gas line?

    I use the original 810.

    **Pictures are attached, one of them has a gray wire going into the ground, would it be possible to ground to it?

    Thanks!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 0131121628.jpg   0130120907.jpg   0131121628a.jpg   0209121316.jpg  
    Last edited by Nb22x; February 11th, 2012 at 02:35 PM.

  2. #2
    Premium Member daman1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Off the deep end
    Posts
    1,121
    Years of Experience
    17 years
    Rep Power
    53

    Default Re: Pleese Educayte Me!

    If there's new or recent construction in the area. The stand alone may have been installed cuz the builders needed power. When the home was finished, no one pulled the meter.

    For the gas meter, you place your hot wire on the collar valve and your ground on the line near where it starts going in the house. If the line is too big to get your ground clamp on it, use a pair of vise grips and clamp the line. Hook your ground up to that. The meter should insulate against electric flow. If you're near the AC unit, you can use the copper going into the house as well but it's easy to jump onto buried electric. Try to save that trick for aerial electric. Anything metal like a fence post will work if you can reach it.

    You cannot ring clamp a metal line. I've tried.

    Metal enclosed pole drop? Ack ! I hate those. Last resort, try to follow it in power mode till you find an access point and direct connect. Then run it back to the riser.
    Last edited by daman1; February 11th, 2012 at 03:06 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member locator00566's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    A Better Place
    Posts
    319
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Pleese Educayte Me!

    Use a Pipe Horn and paint every signal you get

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Nunyabusyknees
    Posts
    63
    Years of Experience
    4
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Pleese Educayte Me!

    I've been locating for about 8 months. A couple weeks ago I had a gas line I was trying to locate. Everything around the riser was concrete. I ended up grounding to the metal siding on the building. Was surprised it worked. I did that for just the service then marked the main by hooking up next door where I could get a decent ground.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    around the corner
    Posts
    548
    Years of Experience
    21
    Rep Power
    30

    Default Re: Pleese Educayte Me!

    carry a couple 10 ft jumper leads in your bag that should get to dirt or try sliding a couple of flags between the house and the concrete slab never tried ring clamping a gas meter but if you wrap those jumper leads around the metal pole it may work as a ring clamp never tried this either but read it on a earlier thread

  6. #6
    4Q2
    4Q2 is offline
    Senior Member 4Q2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Pine Barrens
    Posts
    107
    Years of Experience
    12
    Rep Power
    12

    Default Re: Pleese Educayte Me!

    If buy metal enclosed pole drop you mean a U-Channel.........just clamp around the U-Channel as best as you can and see if that gives a signal. If not, use a "hot stick" to ring clamp above the u-channel where the cable is exposed.

  7. #7
    Senior Member The Big-E's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    247
    Years of Experience
    10
    Rep Power
    19

    Default Re: Pleese Educayte Me!

    Is the standalone meter in a neighborhood where they ALL are standalone?? (ie.."a trailer park") If so... most power contracts don't require you to mark beyond the meter going toward residence or bldg. Just mark from meter back to source (sec. electric ped, padmount transformer or pole)

    If you ground off to the customer side of the gas meter, I would only mark that service to main, but not the main itself. This trick is only for more experienced locators and I would recommend trying harder to find an independent ground if at all possible.

  8. #8
    Administrator TheCableVine's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    2,943
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    134

    Default Re: Pleese Educayte Me!

    This worked for me one day.

    img_0097-2-.jpg img_0098.jpg
    "Change does not always equal progress."

  9. #9
    Senior Member ProfessionalLocator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,306
    Years of Experience
    20
    Rep Power
    102

    Default Re: Pleese Educayte Me!

    Quote Originally Posted by TheCableVine View Post
    This worked for me one day.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0097 (2).jpg 
Views:	62 
Size:	195.9 KB 
ID:	799 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0098.jpg 
Views:	42 
Size:	197.9 KB 
ID:	800
    Same here, but homeowners objected my pissing on their patios just to get a ground.
    superman likes this.

  10. #10
    Senior Member The Big-E's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    247
    Years of Experience
    10
    Rep Power
    19

    Default Re: Pleese Educayte Me!

    Quote Originally Posted by TheCableVine View Post
    This worked for me one day.
    Never tried that one yet... seeing those pics leave me missing my old Subsite 7 series... it's what I started out using back in the beginning...

  11. #11
    Senior Member Turk182's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Stuck outside of Mobile with the Memphis blues again
    Posts
    311
    Years of Experience
    4
    Rep Power
    20

    Default Re: Pleese Educayte Me!

    Find an expansion joint in the concrete and hammer a piece of 1/4" steel rod through it.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Nunyabusyknees
    Posts
    63
    Years of Experience
    4
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Pleese Educayte Me!

    Quote Originally Posted by Turk182 View Post
    Find an expansion joint in the concrete and hammer a piece of 1/4" steel rod through it.
    I have a throwing knife that I use for that. Its nice and thin to get into the cracks but still has enough surface area for a good ground.

  13. #13
    Member Millertime's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    56
    Years of Experience
    9
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Pleese Educayte Me!

    Quote Originally Posted by TheCableVine View Post
    This worked for me one day.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0097 (2).jpg 
Views:	62 
Size:	195.9 KB 
ID:	799 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0098.jpg 
Views:	42 
Size:	197.9 KB 
ID:	800
    That has worked for me also.

  14. #14
    Mke
    Mke is offline
    Senior Member Mke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Republic of Washington
    Posts
    1,536
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    34
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: Pleese Educayte Me!

    NB22, I've got an 810 as well. For the Gas meter surrounded by concrete.... Do you have that grounding plate that comes with the 810? If so, little bit of salt water and make sure the plate is flat on the ground in the salt water and connect to that. The 810 is a verry forgiving machine for poor grounding. If you have a Manhole hook.... I typically use the Manhole hook in these situations.

    As for the Metal encased drop... is there any other utility coming down the pole? If not connect to the ground wire on the pole, these are usually accessible, unless the tweakers got there first. Can you use your hot stick to clamp further up the pole? Some of the "U" protectors on the drops are only to protect half way up the pole. There is some other tricks but they are banned by most companies =)

    As for the Electrical meters. They go back to the transformer or secondary pedestal. The meters are usually pulled if there is no use for them. If the meters are there, typically the conductors are still there as well, weather they are hot or not, doesn't matter.

    As for grounding to the grey wires.... I would try to Isolate the ground. In a pinch it might work, but for the most part everything is grounded together and you may not get the results you are hoping for.

    Good Luck.

    Mke

  15. #15
    Premium Member daman1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Off the deep end
    Posts
    1,121
    Years of Experience
    17 years
    Rep Power
    53

    Default Re: Pleese Educayte Me!

    Quote Originally Posted by Mke View Post
    There is some other tricks but they are banned by most companies =)


    Mke
    Someone pulled the u-guard before I got there. I'll be a good guy and put it back on before I leave. =)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •