Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: Peak or Null

  1. #1
    Moderator Goldenboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,308
    Years of Experience
    18
    Rep Power
    65

    Default Peak or Null

    Do you use both peak and null or just one of them?

    I only use peak. I've tried using null and I just don't like it. I know for hiking a long stretch you can fly in null but for some reason I just don't like null.

    I know alot of people don't like the pinpoint peak on the Rycom but I love it. I will check in the normal peak mode on my walk back but primarily use the pinpoint peak.

  2. #2
    Senior Member big boots mcghee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    321
    Years of Experience
    15
    Rep Power
    22

    Default Re: Peak or Null

    I've been doing this for almost nine years and only in the last year or so have I really started using the null mode on my RD. More than anything I've just found it's another tool to help identify a line.
    My boots may be red but I'm no clown.

  3. #3
    Senior Member sprayandpray's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    2,120
    Rep Power
    94

    Default Re: Peak or Null

    I only use Null if I'm unsure of the tone I'm getting in Peak. I was trained that the Peak option uses two (2) antennas , whereas the Null option only uses 1. On the other hand it's kind of neat to get both arrows at the same time in Null
    I might not be as good as I once was, but I'm as good once as I ever was !


    It's better to be Pissed Off than Pissed On or Stood On and Pissed Off Of !


    The views expressed on this website/blog are mine alone and do not reflect the views of my employer. or my wife , if that matters.

  4. #4
    Junior Member FigNewton's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    18
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Peak or Null

    I've only used null on a 'deep' line. Still wasn't sure on the accuacy of it though.

  5. #5
    Senior Member gypsygirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    517
    Rep Power
    26

    Default Re: Peak or Null

    I will use it for help in verifying a line.... but as a general rule I use peak.

  6. #6
    Senior Member frostypeters's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    163
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Re: Peak or Null

    It is good practice to check yourself in null every so often and yes, you can fly on long stretches. However, you should remember that null is not very accurate on corners & turns.

    Especially with the RD's, you can wonder off your target line & not know it if there are bends in it. Therefore, locate in peak & verify in null is the best way.

    It's a good & effective tool when used properly, the problem is lazy locators like to depend on the little arrows & then you get mismarks...
    Why does a round pizza come in a square box?

  7. #7
    nxs
    nxs is offline
    Junior Member nxs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Peak or Null

    I was taught that peak was more accurate than null so depend on peak but verify with null. On a non-distorted locate (good locate signal), the peak and null should line up, verifying its accuracy. On a distorted locate (bad locate signal), the peak may be slightly off the mark, but the null could be way off the mark. Therefore a good practice would be to walk out your locate in peak and walk back in null. Then you can verify your locate accuracy and also identify any field distortion. If one doesn’t realize that they are locating a distorted signal, they could unknowingly mark inaccurately.

  8. #8
    Senior Member yahoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,910
    Years of Experience
    15
    Rep Power
    167

    Default Re: Peak or Null

    peak for me......never was trained for null......

  9. #9
    Senior Member Wingfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    4,442
    Years of Experience
    20
    Rep Power
    190

    Default Re: Peak or Null

    Quote Originally Posted by FigNewton View Post
    I've only used null on a 'deep' line. Still wasn't sure on the accuacy of it though.
    I like using the RD null when I'm inducing utilities without the coupler.
    Quote Originally Posted by frostypeters View Post
    It is good practice to check yourself in null every so often and yes, you can fly on long stretches. However, you should remember that null is not very accurate on corners & turns.

    Especially with the RD's, you can wonder off your target line & not know it if there are bends in it. Therefore, locate in peak & verify in null is the best way.
    I agree with frosty on all points. Peak will pinpoint the 90 degree corners for me where null will not.

  10. #10
    Senior Member underground quester's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    924
    Rep Power
    46

    Default Re: Peak or Null

    I will use peak mode to locate and nul mode to verify accuracy.

    I was not taught NUL mode in the training class the company offered. It was only when I took a course at Canada's equivalent of the staking university did I learn about NUL mode.
    Success is a journey, not a destination...

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    ****
    Posts
    57
    Rep Power
    12

    Default Re: Peak or Null

    back in the day i used peak and now im hooked on null its i think its better on the locate than peak is,

  12. #12
    Member Metroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    58
    Rep Power
    12

    Default Re: Peak or Null

    I love my metrotech. quick and easy.Haven't had a corner problem yet.

  13. #13
    Senior Member frostypeters's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    163
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Re: Peak or Null

    Quote Originally Posted by Metroman View Post
    I love my metrotech. quick and easy.Haven't had a corner problem yet.
    I don't understand the physics of it, but the metrotech 810 seems to be the exception to the rule. I know I love mine. My comments above are mostly towards using RD's & Subsites. Those are the 3 pieces of equipment I know the most of.
    Why does a round pizza come in a square box?

  14. #14
    Senior Member LadyLeatherneck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    In the swimming pool
    Posts
    435
    Rep Power
    27

    Default Re: Peak or Null

    I learned on the 810. GREAT PIECE OF EQUIPMENT!
    "There are only two kinds of people that understand Marines: Marines and the enemy. Everyone else has a second-hand opinion."

    - General William Thornson, U.S. Army

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Peak or Null

    Quote Originally Posted by big boots mcghee View Post
    I've been doing this for almost nine years and only in the last year or so have I really started using the null mode on my RD. More than anything I've just found it's another tool to help identify a line.
    Exactly, use it to verify your locate..... Unless your an old timer, and like the null response......

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •