Thread: new power grounding

Years of Experience

Default new power grounding

does anyone locate in a area where they use the rebar in the footings to ground the power panel ,and if so had any locating issues? I don't seem to get any signal I think its going to ground? Any help or opinions I'm new to locating power so any suggestions are welcome.

Default Re: new power grounding

why not just use your own grounding rod? Only time I use something other than my grounding rod is when the meter is surrounded by concrete or enclosed within the building. Then I look for something else that would be attached to the foundation to get ground.

Years of Experience
    11.75 yrs

He might be talking the inside electrical panel? If not I always try to use my ground rod first aslo. I had a heavier T handle made. I also carry and extra long jumper wire like 25' in case it is encased by blacktop or concrete. Also gets your ground away so you can get a good path.

Senior Member ProfessionalLocator's Avatar
    Years of Experience

Quote Originally Posted by paintitnow View Post
    He might be talking the inside electrical panel? If not I always try to use my ground rod first aslo. I had a heavier T handle made. I also carry and extra long jumper wire like 25' in case it is encased by blacktop or concrete. Also gets your ground away so you can get a good path.
    The metal shaft of a flag does not make a very good ground, not enough surface area. But where the area is bricked, concreted or asphalted over there is often a crack or two around. I push several flag shafts into the crack and get a good ground.

Years of Experience

sorry i do use a t handle ground but i think the way the power is grounded by the electricians is waaaaay better than my circuit and all my signal is going to the ground in the footing instead of thru my circuit hope this makes better sense

4Q2
    Years of Experience