Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Making Your Own Leads

  1. #1
    Moderator Goldenboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,308
    Years of Experience
    18
    Rep Power
    65

    Question Making Your Own Leads

    Well for years I've tried to keep my leads untangled but it never works.

    I've been wanting to make a set of leads using coiled wire like the old telephone cords. I believe Subsite uses leads like this. Does anyone know where I could find the plug and wires to make a set?

  2. #2
    Conservative Meanie ifinditunderground's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
    Posts
    1,808
    Years of Experience
    20
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    93

    Default

    Radio Shack.
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Mental Illness."
    "America isn't free, in America you are free to follow the rules." -Anthony Cumia


  3. #3
    Senior Member yahoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,909
    Years of Experience
    15
    Rep Power
    167

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Goldenboy View Post
    Well for years I've tried to keep my leads untangled but it never works.

    I've been wanting to make a set of leads using coiled wire like the old telephone cords. I believe Subsite uses leads like this. Does anyone know where I could find the plug and wires to make a set?
    have an old set here when you coming to louisiana??? pm me when possible

  4. #4
    Senior Member TBONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    In a bottle of Wild Turkey 101
    Posts
    550
    Years of Experience
    15
    Rep Power
    32

    Lightbulb

    what type of machine are you using and as for the coiled wires see if Bill Norris has any www.4locators.com (Norris Telcom) or MT Electronics RD 400 and Metrotech plugs can be gotten from Radio Shack if you need RD4000 check with MT or BIll and First Quality Electronics as well.

  5. #5
    Moderator Goldenboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,308
    Years of Experience
    18
    Rep Power
    65

    Default

    I use the Rycom which uses the same 1/4 inch plug as the old RD's.

  6. #6
    Senior Member TBONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    In a bottle of Wild Turkey 101
    Posts
    550
    Years of Experience
    15
    Rep Power
    32

    Default

    Radio Shack has the 1/4' plugs you will need

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    160
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    .
    Last edited by 2RUDE; June 21st, 2008 at 03:04 PM. Reason: .

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    160
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    .
    Last edited by 2RUDE; June 21st, 2008 at 03:04 PM. Reason: .

  9. #9
    Senior Member TBONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    In a bottle of Wild Turkey 101
    Posts
    550
    Years of Experience
    15
    Rep Power
    32

    Angry

    I like the coiled wire myself wish i had never gotten rid of that set thats what happens when you send stuff off for repair you get some other crap back just to safe a few dollars

  10. #10
    Senior Member beyond help's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    somewhere on my hand
    Posts
    1,380
    Rep Power
    69

    Default

    Probably in the closet in the district offices
    STRESS: The confusion created when one's mind overrides the body's basic desire to choke the living daylights out of some idiot who desperately deserves it.

  11. #11
    Moderator Goldenboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,308
    Years of Experience
    18
    Rep Power
    65

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yahoo View Post
    have an old set here when you coming to louisiana??? pm me when possible
    Thanks alot for the leads. Now I just have to warm up the soldering iron and I'll be in business. Your check is in the mail.

  12. #12
    Senior Member yahoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,909
    Years of Experience
    15
    Rep Power
    167

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Goldenboy View Post
    Thanks alot for the leads. Now I just have to warm up the soldering iron and I'll be in business. Your check is in the mail.
    that's a 10-4 golden boy glad i could help a fellow locater

  13. #13
    Senior Member Wingfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    4,436
    Years of Experience
    20
    Rep Power
    190

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TBONE View Post
    Radio Shack has the 1/4' plugs you will need
    Make sure you buy the mono plugs. The stereo plugs will not work.

    I make my leads using copper 14 gauge monster speaker wire with the mono plugs for my RD 400 transmitter. My leads are 8' long each and don't tangle up that bad. My leads last many months w/o maintenance.
    Last edited by Wingfoot; May 26th, 2008 at 02:00 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •