Thread: Low end locate tools - RV Park

Years of Experience

Default Low end locate tools - RV Park

I'm new to locate and have been looking at low end equipment.

I've got a 19 Acre RV park built in the 1970s so have been mapping out septic and water lines for the last month with the Arde AR-1 from Prototek. Recently, I have moved on to electrical, telephone and cable. The private locate quotes were enormous on the water/sewer which prompted me to buy my own stuff and learn enough to get by.

I picked up the Greenlee 501 Tracker II unit and have been thinking about sending it back in favor of the Armadatech 871C pro unit.

TRACKER 11-CABLE LOCATOR (501) - Greenlee - Made for the Trade? 783310086628

Pro871 Dual Frequency Underground Cable Locator | Armada Technologies

Can someone here help give me a breakdown of why I might want one over the other?

It looks like the 871 pro is capable of 2 frequencies and null reception. It also has passive locate ability with 50/60hz. What it does not have is the ability to adjust the transmitter strength.

I've been playing around with the Greenlee quite a bit and like it. The manual explains to adjust the transmitter signal down as low as possible to reduce EMI bleed over to adjacent wires. Would the Armadatech 871 pro be more useful to me with the multiple frequencies? Or is the Greenlee just fine if I properly tune the transmitter output. I also like that the Greenlee unit is compatible with all sorts of other Greenlee equipment.

Also, does anyone else here recommend any low end equipment, price wise? Both of these unit run about 700-750 bucks. Any help is appreciated. I would love to have passive locate but anyone here who has worked in a MH or RV park, will tell you there is so much crap in the ground, it probably does not matter. Opinions?

Years of Experience

Default Re: Low end locate tools - RV Park

Quote Originally Posted by locatenoob View Post
    I'm new to locate and have been looking at low end equipment.