Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Locating with Spar 300 system

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    H
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Locating with Spar 300 system

    Hi,

    i wonder if anyone have expericene with the Spar 300 locating system, as i understand it works with a different technology than common locators, and they claim that system is "much more reliable" when it comes to locating, and they use lower frequenzes so they do not get so much bleedover to other utilities.

  2. #2
    Conservative Meanie ifinditunderground's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
    Posts
    1,808
    Years of Experience
    20
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    93

    Default Re: Locating with Spar 300 system

    Googling Spar 300, maybe it's another Innspector Dustpan type instrument.
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Mental Illness."
    "America isn't free, in America you are free to follow the rules." -Anthony Cumia


  3. #3
    Conservative Meanie ifinditunderground's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
    Posts
    1,808
    Years of Experience
    20
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    93

    Default Re: Locating with Spar 300 system

    Spar 300 <---- Click Here
    I saw this at last years CGA Conference, it was presented by Michael Twohig of Woolpert. Interesting tool, but way over my head. And I was REALLY hung over, didn't help my understanding of its function one bit. It has a pretty specific use, not for the Contract or Production Locator at all. Intended more for the SUE/Survey side of things, which is Michaels expertise.
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Mental Illness."
    "America isn't free, in America you are free to follow the rules." -Anthony Cumia


  4. #4
    Administrator TheCableVine's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    2,943
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    134

    Default Re: Locating with Spar 300 system

    If I understand it correctly... and I may be completely wrong, it seems that the utility first needs to be located and then the coordinates entered into some database. The Spar 300 then locates the coordinates and therefore is locating the utility.

    I would think that it would work in such a way that you could attach this to a backhoe and when the backhoe operator unknowingly attempts to dig into a utility the spar 300 would (if capable) shutdown the backhoe or disable it in such a way that it didn't dig into the utility.

    Of course the utility would have to have been previously located and mapped for a system to be able to do something like this.
    "Change does not always equal progress."

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    around the corner
    Posts
    548
    Years of Experience
    21
    Rep Power
    30

    Default Re: Locating with Spar 300 system

    I was looking thru the website and they were using a vivax to do the locate. This looks to be the same as the RD vector bar it doesn't locate it just verifies the signal

  6. #6
    Conservative Meanie ifinditunderground's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
    Posts
    1,808
    Years of Experience
    20
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    93

    Default Re: Locating with Spar 300 system

    Quote Originally Posted by TheCableVine View Post
    If I understand it correctly... and I may be completely wrong, it seems that the utility first needs to be located and then the coordinates entered into some database. The Spar 300 then locates the coordinates and therefore is locating the utility.

    I would think that it would work in such a way that you could attach this to a backhoe and when the backhoe operator unknowingly attempts to dig into a utility the spar 300 would (if capable) shutdown the backhoe or disable it in such a way that it didn't dig into the utility.

    Of course the utility would have to have been previously located and mapped for a system to be able to do something like this.
    Pretty close Steve. It is intended to be attached to a GPS receiver pole for very tight mapping of utilities as you locate them.
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Mental Illness."
    "America isn't free, in America you are free to follow the rules." -Anthony Cumia


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    H
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Locating with Spar 300 system

    Quote Originally Posted by ifinditunderground View Post
    Pretty close Steve. It is intended to be attached to a GPS receiver pole for very tight mapping of utilities as you locate them.
    Yes, thats what i intend to do, but i wonder if the SPAR system, is more accurate/reliable when it comes to depth/accuracy then example the Vivax which i am currently using, as i understand the Transmitter can be Vivax or RD or maybe something else, and then the SPAR receives thoose signals and make some triangulation calculation and caclulates the distance to the centre of the object i am locating, i have seen i need to add the diameter of the utility i am locating in the SPAR, and then the SPAR calculates towards the centre.

    So is the SPAR receiver more reliable/accurate than the Vlocpro2 ?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    H
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Locating with Spar 300 system

    Quote Originally Posted by ifinditunderground View Post
    Pretty close Steve. It is intended to be attached to a GPS receiver pole for very tight mapping of utilities as you locate them.
    Yes, thats what i intend to use it for, but i wonder if the actually locating receiver in the SPAR is a better/more relaiable when it comes to depth readings and also if its more accurate of actually locating the right utility than example the Vivax receiver. The SPAR system can receive from many different transmitters on the market as i understand. They call the locating technology for "fieldsense technology" and claim it to be better than conventional locating

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •