Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Locating power at a home owners.

  1. #1
    Senior Member underground quester's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    924
    Rep Power
    48

    Default Locating power at a home owners.

    I had a locate today that has me thinking and have not come up with the answer yet.

    Hooked up to the power meter,
    made metal to metal contact,
    grounded out to damp soil and turned unit on to low frequency.
    Went to front of lot and did sweeps to find where power service enters lot. NOTHING.

    Switched to high frequency went through the same thing. Nothing.

    Moved the ground tried again> Nothing.

    Moved the connection alligator clip at the meter, made sure I had good metal to metal contact. Still nothing.

    Thought this is stupid (roughly translated).

    Went and got my coupler, bang 800 signal. WTH?


    Been thinking about it since.

    Coupler would not transmit if power was not grounded, so that could not be a possibility.

    My leads were good. Worked well the balance of the day.

    We have had lots of rain/snow, so dry soil was not a factor.

    No other services or utilities in the immediate area.

    Checked both the ends of the clips and jack, everything was inserted correctly.

    Any other ideas I have not thought about?

    ThanX guys!
    Success is a journey, not a destination...

  2. #2
    Senior Member AULupstate's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    969
    Rep Power
    50

    Default Re: Locating power at a home owners.

    I've found that sometimes it just 'is what it is'.

    You could be using the same techniques all day long and ou come to that one thing that makes you brek out every skill and piece of equipment you have to find it. I gave up trying to figure out why (causes migranes and costs alot of money in advil)

  3. #3
    Mke
    Mke is offline
    Senior Member Mke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Republic of Washington
    Posts
    1,542
    Years of Experience
    16
    Rep Power
    78

    Default Re: Locating power at a home owners.

    I had a locate in a parking lot one time, shoulda been nice and easy. There was an Irrigation Well house with the feed going back to the Ticket booths. I was able to direct connect directly to the ground wire.... nothing. I ring clamped....Nothing. I induced....nothing. Couldn't locate it worth a damn. Electricians came out shut down the pump for the well and "boom" every hook up lit the line up. Go figure.

  4. #4
    Senior Member headcipher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    334
    Years of Experience
    14
    Rep Power
    24

    Default Re: Locating power at a home owners.

    If there is an insulator between the meter socket and the riser and meter housing this happens. You get a ground because the signal is following the riser straight down.

    You can also induce the riser by putting your machine(depending on the machine) right on the riser, and get a better signal than your clamp.

    Another good tactic is just hook to the transformer and run it backwards.

  5. #5
    Conservative Meanie ifinditunderground's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
    Posts
    1,809
    Years of Experience
    20
    Rep Power
    95

    Default Re: Locating power at a home owners.

    Quote Originally Posted by AULupstate View Post
    I've found that sometimes it just 'is what it is'.

    You could be using the same techniques all day long and ou come to that one thing that makes you brek out every skill and piece of equipment you have to find it. I gave up trying to figure out why (causes migranes and costs alot of money in advil)
    I am 100% with AUL on this one. Sometimes that is the only answer I have for my guys when things like this come up.
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Mental Illness."
    "America isn't free, in America you are free to follow the rules." -Anthony Cumia


  6. #6
    Senior Member beyond help's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    somewhere on my hand
    Posts
    1,380
    Rep Power
    71

    Default Re: Locating power at a home owners.

    Sounds like a continuity problem.
    STRESS: The confusion created when one's mind overrides the body's basic desire to choke the living daylights out of some idiot who desperately deserves it.

  7. #7
    Senior Member RD_Wrangler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U S A
    Posts
    669
    Years of Experience
    10
    Rep Power
    40

    Default Re: Locating power at a home owners.

    Quote Originally Posted by headcipher View Post
    If there is an insulator between the meter socket and the riser and meter housing this happens. You get a ground because the signal is following the riser straight down.

    You can also induce the riser by putting your machine(depending on the machine) right on the riser, and get a better signal than your clamp.

    Another good tactic is just hook to the transformer and run it backwards.
    I'm gonna side with cipher on this one. Neutral plate insulators SUCK! but are becoming more common.
    Character is what you are in the dark. It is the things you do, when nobody can see, and nobody will ever know, that define who you are as an individual.

    "Government big enough to supply everything you need is big enough to take everything you have ... The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases." Thomas Jefferson

    Per Scientiam Vires!

  8. #8
    Senior Member yahoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    4,118
    Years of Experience
    15
    Rep Power
    177

    Default Re: Locating power at a home owners.

    something was not grounded somewhere.....but that would seem illogical!! don't know
    wise men talk because they have something to say and fools because they have to say something....plato

  9. #9
    Senior Member underground quester's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    924
    Rep Power
    48

    Default Re: Locating power at a home owners.

    Quote Originally Posted by headcipher View Post
    If there is an insulator between the meter socket and the riser and meter housing this happens. You get a ground because the signal is following the riser straight down.

    You can also induce the riser by putting your machine(depending on the machine) right on the riser, and get a better signal than your clamp.

    Another good tactic is just hook to the transformer and run it backwards.

    Headcipher:

    That would make sense. Same thing happens on pipelines so I constructed myself a jumper wire.

    Had not heard of it on homeowners power meter boxes before. Is there something visible I should be able to see or is the insulator inside the meter housing? I assume its inside.

    ThanX for the heads up.
    Success is a journey, not a destination...

  10. #10
    Member Red Dawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    On the road-Anytown, USA
    Posts
    51
    Rep Power
    13

    Default Re: Locating power at a home owners.

    I always unbond and ring clamp. The can is not always grounded correctly

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
A 'Rook Media' Website