Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By ProfessionalLocator
  • 1 Post By Cuda
  • 3 Post By CableAvoidanceTool

Thread: I'm a plumber and just bought a rd7000dl+ and a tx5, few questions.

Years of Experience

Cool I'm a plumber and just bought a rd7000dl+ and a tx5, few questions.

Hey guys lemme start out by stating that I am NOT a professional utility locator. I am a service and repair plumber BUT I do have plenty of experience in locating sondes and line tracing gas lines and pvc lines via steel fish tape or vacumming fishing line down the line and then pulling primary wire thru and direct connect to that to get a signal on the line. and all with ridgid seek tech Sr 20 or ridgid Navi track scout and their st510 transmitter. All my line tracing experience is with direct connection. Now I also use that equipment for inside the home copper slab leaks. I direct connection to the lines then trace them out and then perform acoustic leak detection down the traced lines in order to locate the leak for a direct access spot repair. I also have done double ended connections also. I also do direct connection to "find" the point "B" of where the line comes out of the ground so I can then cut the wall open to access the manifold. Now my questions are about this.....

I'm not familiar with manual gain....the ridgid stuff does not have manual gain.....

And what's the rule of thumb for gain on peak mode and peak/null combined....for general use....

What's the rule of thumb for gain settings while locating 512 sondes.....