Thread: Ditchwitch 950R

Default Ditchwitch 950R

Hey guys I got a couple of questions on some confusion I have about my locator. I am new to it and I could stand to learn more about the use of locators. I happened to notice when I was toning a cable that if I came toward the target from one side and marked the spot, I could also come in from the other side and the spot would be about 6 or 8 inches away from the first spot. This really threw me. It doesn't happen all the time but occassionally. It leaves you wondering which one is right? Maybe you just choose the middle between them. It was telephone cable I was locating. I also noticed that you could hook up at a ped and do a locate. You could hook up at a different ped and redo that locate and find that the new mark was not where the original mark fell. why the difference?
    This locator also has a beep with the directional arrows to let you know when you are over the cable. It also has the sound to indicate you are over your target when it is at it's highest. I have noticed a few times that the beeps didn't fall in with the peak in pitch but they came as it was going down some. what to trust? Thanks for your opinion

Years of Experience

Default Re: Ditchwitch 950R

If you are sure that you were on the correct cable then I don't know the answer.

I have noticed something similar. If I locate a cable walking North (for example) and then turn around and locate the same cable going south, I will be off by about 6 inches.
    "Change does not always equal progress."

Years of Experience

Hey scrappy - Welcome to the'Vine!

14 May 2009 - An early morning sun illuminates a light rain over Nevada, Missouri

I work for USIC a hundred miles north of your town. I've been thru your town many times on my way to Baxter Springs, Kansas when I worked for Goodyear and on my way to the lake at Stockton, Missouri for pleasure. I am happy you decided to join us!