Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 24 of 24
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: Difficulty locating power secondaries

  1. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    117
    Years of Experience
    20+
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Difficulty locating power secondaries

    Quote Originally Posted by USIC1 View Post
    This is where 480khz could maybe have done the trick ?
    Lmao thank you!!!

  2. #17
    Senior Member The Big-E's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    247
    Years of Experience
    10
    Rep Power
    19

    Default Re: Difficulty locating power secondaries

    It's true Justanotherlocator82... in this case with this scenario, you cannot traditionally locate from padmount to secondary. If the secondary were feeding something, anything, then you could hook to that and run back toward ped, then transformer. You have to have Power co. come out and hook you directly on to the plastic mushroom ped.
    UULC likes this.

  3. #18
    Senior Member ProfessionalLocator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,309
    Years of Experience
    20
    Rep Power
    102

    Default Re: Difficulty locating power secondaries

    There are good suggestions here but if you don't want to spend the time use a backhoe. Finds them first time , everytime.
    yahoo likes this.

  4. #19
    Senior Member headcipher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    328
    Years of Experience
    14
    Rep Power
    22

    Default Re: Difficulty locating power secondaries

    If there is no path to ground the secondary line will not carry a signal. Our electric temps usually have a ground rod so they will scope. You can usually hook to a screw on the face with the outlets and run it or last ditch put a flag in the ground prong and hook to that.

    On rare occasion though, I will run into a heavily shielded electric cable that will not scope under almost any hook up situation, some even with direct hook to the neutral.

  5. #20
    Senior Member yahoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,909
    Years of Experience
    15
    Rep Power
    167

    Default Re: Difficulty locating power secondaries

    sorry about all the confusion guys.....I cut that line in 2 places last week doing a rd bore for 2 separate water meters .......LOL
    superman and USIC1 like this.
    wise men talk because they have something to say and fools because they have to say something....plato

  6. #21
    Senior Member USIC1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Md. Va. Wv.
    Posts
    1,802
    Years of Experience
    na
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Difficulty locating power secondaries

    Quote Originally Posted by yahoo View Post
    sorry about all the confusion guys.....I cut that line in 2 places last week doing a rd bore for 2 separate water meters .......LOL
    beginning to rub off... yyyeesss!!!!

    when you can snatch the pebbles or walk across w/o tearing the rice paper then you will be ready...
    Last edited by USIC1; August 27th, 2013 at 11:24 PM.
    yahoo likes this.

  7. #22
    Member PokerAdam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Capitol Region, NY
    Posts
    94
    Years of Experience
    10
    Rep Power
    12

    Default Re: Difficulty locating power secondaries

    Did you try to drop on the cable. I know it doesn't always work, but all your other methods failed. If drop boxing worked, you would have saved alot of time waiting for someone else to help you DC. You also could have tried withcing the cable (especially to get a starting point for drop boxing). Unless this type of magic is forbidden at your company.

  8. #23
    Senior Member superman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    397
    Years of Experience
    18
    Rep Power
    20

    Default Re: Difficulty locating power secondaries

    Quote Originally Posted by PokerAdam View Post
    Did you try to drop on the cable. I know it doesn't always work, but all your other methods failed. If drop boxing worked, you would have saved alot of time waiting for someone else to help you DC. You also could have tried withcing the cable (especially to get a starting point for drop boxing). Unless this type of magic is forbidden at your company.
    I've never heard of dropping on the cable. Are you talking about inducing?

  9. #24
    Senior Member yahoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,909
    Years of Experience
    15
    Rep Power
    167

    Default Re: Difficulty locating power secondaries

    yeah ...that's what he means .
    wise men talk because they have something to say and fools because they have to say something....plato

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •