Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Like Tree39Likes

Thread: Ask The Driller

Years of Experience

Default Ask The Driller

Hey guys,

As some of you have gotten already, I'm not a locator, I'm an underground contractor that does a lot of directional boring, as well as trenching, plowing, vacuum excavating, etc... Well, I've noticed several posts on here talking about contractors and some of you wondering why they do what they do sometimes.

No I can't answer the typical questions of, "What the hell was he thinking trying to expose that gas service with a backhoe?" or something like that, but I'd love to hear what kinds of things you guys run into and want clarification on.

One reason I joined here was to get some insight into the locators and how you guys go about doing what you do, how you approach certain situations and picking up some tips and tricks along the way which would help me put my locator on your marks to verify something I might have a question on.

Fire away.

Years of Experience

Default Re: Ask The Driller

Hope it's ok to ask you a couple questions. Are you on a first name basis with the locators. Do you have cell #s for the llocators and lead techs? Do you hook up after we locate to verify our marks and get depth ideas? Just curious.

Years of Experience

Definitely, ask away.

Names/numbers: Not really and I'll tell you why. I'm in IL, mostly in the Chicago-suburbs, and there are so many locators out here, and we work in so many different areas all over the state, not to mention in the neighboring states. If I'm on a big project for a while, then I'll have a chance to get to know the locators a little more, but typically we're able to finish our plant extension or replacement jobs in a day or 2 depending on the size/scope.