Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 3watt or 10watt transmitter

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    18
    Years of Experience
    5
    Rep Power
    8

    Default 3watt or 10watt transmitter

    Is a 3watt transmitter good enough or is 10 watt required I locate power cables. Trace wires steel pipes, copper phone cables and cast iron water mains

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Nunyabusyknees
    Posts
    63
    Years of Experience
    4
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: 3watt or 10watt transmitter

    I run a RD TX-3 transmitter which is 3 watts. I hardly ever bump it up to full power.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    815
    Years of Experience
    11.75 yrs
    Rep Power
    41

    Default Re: 3watt or 10watt transmitter

    I use a 10 watt RD7000, I use just one bar which is around 2.5 watts and find I can locate most gas , electric, catv and phone. On deep or difficult locates it is nice to have the 10 watts. like high frequency, high wattage can cause problems too if not used properly

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Nunyabusyknees
    Posts
    63
    Years of Experience
    4
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: 3watt or 10watt transmitter

    I also run an RD7000 receiver.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    18
    Years of Experience
    5
    Rep Power
    8

    Default Re: 3watt or 10watt transmitter

    Thank you for the info everyone

  6. #6
    Senior Member Wingfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    4,436
    Years of Experience
    20
    Rep Power
    190

    Default Re: 3watt or 10watt transmitter

    Hey brehaut - For the last 14+ years as a locator, I have always used Radio Detection equipment for my daily work. My preferred transmitter has been the T1 one-watt for locating telephone cables, cable television lines, short distance fibers, electricity lines, all plastic and small diameter steel gas lines in the suburbs.
    The day I started locating gas lines and water lines in the oldest part of my city, I realized quickly my one-watt transmitter just didn't have the shit required for locating old cast iron mains and old ductile iron mains. I was issued a five-watt transmitter that worked well enough to keep me out of trouble. I found there is a learning curve required when finding very old and very large pipes made of shitty material. I learned witching can work and induction became my friend!

    I've since graduated from the RD five-watt transmitter to the Radio Detection TX-10 ten-watt transmitter. Very little gets by me now!


    In my personal opinion, size really matters! A 3-watt transmitter is like watching fresh amatuers. But a 10-watt transmitter is like having Ron Jeremy in control! Just sayin'.



    --------------------------------------------------------------------

  7. #7
    Senior Member FailedSafetyAudit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Office Screen Country
    Posts
    196
    Years of Experience
    10
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: 3watt or 10watt transmitter

    Keep in mind that the FCC has mandated that all frequencies being broadcast for the purposes of locating underground utilities above 45 khz are limited to 1 watt of output power. If you go above 1 watt, you must use it for a frequency lower than 45 khz. The transmitters nowadays will automatically adjust this for you.
    TRUST no one !!!
    QUESTION everything !!!
    Find the TRUTH for yourself !!!
    Sound a bit paranoid ???
    That's what this business is. - Don Lyng

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •