Thread: One Call Locators Canada Edmonton

Default One Call Locators Canada Edmonton

Has anybody here ever work for 1CallLocators in Edmonton? I had an interview with them today and they seem to have a pretty good setup..theyre unionized, have new equipment and new trucks but..how are they to work for? The supervisor said they looking for a few experienced techs and Im a lil worried that they might be too good to be true!

Default Re: One Call Locators Canada Edmonton

Sorry buddy, I don't know too much about your side of the great white north or the companies in Alberta.

So I just got a callback from 1Call, I got the job! I have 2 1/2 years experience locating and because these guys are unionized..Im making $19.50 an hour. The only kick in the ass is that I have to go through thier ENTIRE training program..the supervisor said its gonna be like 3 weeks of classroom and at least 2 weeks of ride alongs till they let me do tickets on thier own. I like that all thier vehicles are all wheel drive SUV's..in Alberta its really nice with all the snow we get up here. Im kind of leary of the equipment though, never used the 3M , Im a RD user but she said they locate marker balls and the RD isnt as good as the 3M. Anybody got any experience using the 3M?

Mke
    Years of Experience
    Blog Entries

I've used the older 3M toilet seat locator, which wasn't horrible as long as the targets were installed correctly. You probably will be using the newer Dynatel locators. I would assume that it would work pretty good, Markers are definitively different to locate then a linear utility. Good luck, with a couple years under your belt, you shouldn't have any issues with the transition.

(I have ignored the standard joke about the Canadian Exchange rate....)

MKe

Dynatel Locators are pretty good equipment. They function nice. I just HATE the audible tone they throw out. For that reason ALONE I won't work with one. Nothing worse than that sound grating your eardrums ALL day long.