Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By Mke
  • 1 Post By CableAvoidanceTool

Thread: Starting A Locate Company

NGP
    Years of Experience

Default Starting A Locate Company

Hello All!
    This one is for all the owners of small private locate companies out there. After some years working as a technician I recently began the process of beginning my own locate/concrete imaging company and I wanted to get the low down from any folks who have gone the same route. Mainly, what methods did you use to attract your customers? Bids? (of course), online marketing? direct mail to contractors? Cold Calling? What worked for you? What didn't work? I am in a new city from where I used to work so relying on old contacts is out. And as a tech I never got to work on the customers side of the business outside of locating in the field. I have the experience, just looking for a little help getting the ball rolling! Any positive feedback is appreciated. Thanks in Advance!

Mke
    Years of Experience
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Starting A Locate Company

couple of questions...

Did your previous experience include Private locates? I ask because typically small locating companies survive by word of mouth and most of the work they get is solely private locating. You may be able to grab a small phone company or water company but usually these don't pencil out very well, but look great when trying to market the company for other contracts.

I've none a few locators that opened their own company and all of them thought it was going to be a lot easier then it was. Most had to take it in the shorts for the first year or so until they built their reputation up. As for marketing... this is what most of them did...

1) Website - lots of pictures of previous work. List of services and projects previously worked on.