Thread: The Proper Welcome Wagon Post

Default The Proper Welcome Wagon Post

Well I had to come back and post the proper way in the Welcome Wagon! Hello all! I've had co-workers tell me about this site for sometime but USIC1 talked me into checking this website out, and I gotta say this. I've never spent so much time reading online than I did after I signed up! Thank you Steve for putting this site together! As far as reading, I can tell just from reading that a FEW people on here claim they are locators. I wouldn't trust you to mow my grass correct! Some people just don't understand locating and some people just get lucky. And yes, Like I said a few. But I'm excited to be able to talk to other True Locators that don't think of this as just a job, but you guys get down on the small details and thank you for sharing your knowledge,info and experience. For me I've been doing this for almost five years, been doing cable TV before that for five years. For some of you guys that have been doing it longer than me Five years might not seem that long and your right. But After doing this for two years I had a sewer project come up that lasted for Two and a half years. Two Damages that was mine and thats because of a major mistake in prints. Prints are just a guide bull crap. Sixteen fiber damages, Eighty four phone damages, Hundreds of Cable TV damages, and Ninty seven power damages done by the project alone. That's where I learned it all. All the locating for drops, mailboxes, sprinkler systems and every now and then a little fiber replacement etc doesn't have anything on sewer. One thing like most of you know, if there is utilities in the way, its going to get exposed on a sewer project. There is no getting around it. It helps alot when your able to see what you located exposed in a hugh hole. So you better have it marked right. The area I had nobody wanted, every locator in the area did not want to help even before the project. To me it was the perfect training ground. Ju