Thread: Newly hired, Where to go from here?

Default Newly hired, Where to go from here?

This is a bit premature, but what the heck...

I was lucky enough to land one of two openings in what seems like a good company based on your reviews - And to be honest I got some pretty good vibes from the regional - I was a cable subcontractor and contractor for the past 5 years, market is dead here and dying in others for that area, so I consider myself lucky to land a job in a "related" field.

Thing is I try to be a jack of all trades thing and it's a craft based skill, how do I improve this? I'm reasonably certain I should be pretty happy with my current employer for a good while but that interests me the most is infrastructure related things - I.E. with the cable company I wanted to learn more about maintenence and head end, but I couldn't do that because I wasn't in-house. if dominion hired me (gas company around here) as a meter reader they tend to turn those meter readers into pipe fitters, likewise the electric company turns them into linesman and substation maintainers.

So I suppose my question is where down the road can I branch off learn some new things and potentially break into a new area?

Senior Member ProfessionalLocator's Avatar
    Years of Experience

Default Re: Newly hired, Where to go from here?

Quote Originally Posted by jmarko View Post

I was lucky enough to land one of two openings in what seems like a good company based on your reviews - And to be honest I got some pretty good vibes from the regional - I was a cable subcontractor and contractor for the past 5 years, market is dead here and dying in others for that area, so I consider myself lucky to land a job in a "related" field.