Thread: Newbie saying Hi

Years of Experience

Default Newbie saying Hi

G’Day all,

Recently joined your group and thought it time to introduce myself.

My name is Jeff and I live on the sunny Gold Coast of Queensland in Australia. Are there any other locators on the forum from Australia??

I have been locating for a few years and recently a group of us decided to form our own company and see how we fair in the competitive market we have here in South East Queensland. If you are interested you can find out a little about us at www.provac.net.au

I am trying to spend less time in the field and more time in the training rooms, I fill the role of Training Manager, but I am sure you would be aware that when trying to get an organization off the ground it is all hands on deck and job descriptions and titles do not necessarily mean a great deal.

We have been going about six months; we all have a locating/potholing/teaching background. To date we have managed to win some impressive contracts, for example all the locating and potholing work for the Hale Street Link project ( www.halestreetlink.com.au ), part of a five company consortium to again do the locating and potholing for the Airport Link and Northern Bus Way ( www.brisconnections.com.au ) see projects on the lower right side of the page. As well we have picked up the training contract for Brisbane City Council – 600 employees – Plan Reading and Duty of Care Obligations and with a high portion continuing onto do the locating course that we offer.

Happy to answer any questions that you may have and I am sure that over time I will get to know a few of you a little better. Thank you to Steve for providing this forum.

Cheers for now
    Jeff.

Conservative Meanie ifinditunderground's Avatar
    Years of Experience
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Newbie saying Hi

Gas man, welcome to the show. Post often as I am interested in the differences between locating here in the States and in Australia.