Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie here with some equipment questions

Default Re: Newbie here with some equipment questions

Discussion about RD 8000

And another

Little talk about Vivax

Hope this helps.

Oh.. found all this within the vine with the search function.

Senior Member ProfessionalLocator's Avatar
    Years of Experience

Quote Originally Posted by SLNGDawgFan View Post
    so i am thinking about sending out the 810 to get "tweaked". In the meantime, I have narrowed my new purchase down to a radiodetection 8000 and a vivax v-lok locator.

Anyone have any real field experience with these, positive or negative or are there any other opinions about these???? thanks guys...this site has been a tremendous help, I showed my manager this thread and he was very impressed that I was trying to get the best info possible before we made a decision.

Thanks again guys
    Patrick Spivey
    Southern LNG, an El Paso Company
    When you send the 810 to be "tweaked" their term will be calibration.
    Many firms put a sticker on the equipment with a date for when to calibrate it next. These vary from 1 to 2 years. If the 810 is used daily and for long periods I want mine calibrated one a year at a minimum.

You wrote that you have some plastic lines taped off the main which is also plastic. That the main was put in with tracer wire but you cannot find wire with the service taps. Try the induction mode and if the tracer is buried with the service taps, though not brought tot he surface on either end, you may still be able to find it.

If you know the rough location of the tap start by placing the 810 transmitter to what we will call left of suspected location. What you are going to do is move the transmitter to the right in three foot increments. Between moving the transmitter you will go out towards where the tap is supped to run to and sweep with the receiver. Repeat until you get a good signal.