Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie from Down Under

Default Newbie from Down Under

G'day

Just found this Forum yesterday while doing a search for marker flags !! What a great resource.
    I guess I'm new to locating, its not a well know industry in Australia ( are there any other Aussies here ) Ya know I guess there would only be about a hundred or so Locators in all of Australia, and there is only one In all of Northern Territory (& thats about twice as big as Texas).

I was a Lineman with our biggest Telco for 29 years & saw the Locating business from the other side, had at least one job a week fixing up a damage cause by a digger or fencer. I did get a few locate jobs & believe it or not I was using a Metrotech 480 Split Box locator, I never heard or RD's or any machine that could give a depth reading !!, No training , nothing, Just go & do this locate job with a machine from the 1960's .

Anyway I had to put in a new fence a few months ago so bought myself a Leica Digicat 550i & a Digitex 8/33 to do my own locate before starting the post hole Auger , I sure wish I had one of those Locators when I was with the Telco. ( Anyone in the cablevine use the Digicat ?? I cant find any referance in the search)

I spoke to a few fencers & they never get any of their jobs located so I decided there is an opening so I joined the local Nulca chapter and started my own locate business, Did the Nulca training & found that my Digicat has severe limitations as there is no NULL indicator so got a used RD4000 , You guys might think the RD4000 is old school now but after the Metrotech its like a Rolls Royce !!

Anyway - Im way off what I was looking for - Marker Flags, I just cant find them for sale anywhere in this country so I made a bunch using Bicycle spokes with Duct tape wrapped around the top & stuck to itself.

Great Forum, will be a regular visitor Im sure !!

Years of Experience
    30+

Default Re: Newbie from Down Under

Welcome GroundScope,