Thread: newb/piece rate bs

Default newb/piece rate bs

i am new to the locating biz and was wondering who tha jacas was who invented piece rate!!!!! i was doing fine withe hourly pay and then i my 90th day these jerks go to piece rate system that everybody hates nobody can make money at, especially during the winter months and there are people trying to damage out so they can collect unemployment!! totally unethical!

Senior Member ProfessionalLocator's Avatar
    Years of Experience

Default Re: newb/piece rate bs

Quote Originally Posted by splattr View Post
    i am new to the locating biz and was wondering who tha jacas was who invented piece rate!!!!! i was doing fine withe hourly pay and then i my 90th day these jerks go to piece rate system that everybody hates nobody can make money at, especially during the winter months and there are people trying to damage out so they can collect unemployment!! totally unethical!
    Piece rate has had several forms so details of how it is being used is needed.

Piece work is part of a much maligned system called PFP, Pay For Performance.

PFP is disliked by many of the utilities that contract with locating firms. It encourages those employees who are so inclined to falsify their manifests to indicate tickets completed that have not actually been done in order to get more money. Some locators rush through marking and do a poor job. The problem here is that when the locator gets paid for work not performed so does the locate firm. Some of these firms have been less than diligent supervising their employees whether just due to a poor management team or that they know they are getting money from this and turn a blind eye.