Thread: Newb from Phoenix

Default Newb from Phoenix

Hello all.

I'm a newb from Phoenix. I've been locating and mapping irrigation systems for awhile. I've been thinking about doing some pre-design locating for landscape contractors, irrigators and architects. I've done this for myself for a few years as part of my site information gathering process. Locating all the utility lines as well as anything that has been previously buried by the property owner (permitted or not) before you start the design process is just smart as I'm sure all of you will agree.

So I'll be sticking my toe in the private locating pool. I do have a couple of friends that are pretty good at this. One of them posts here, that's how I found this forum. However, I'm not exactly sure what I need to be legit as a private locator here in AZ.

Any suggestions you guys have will be appreciated.

Years of Experience

Default Re: Newb from Phoenix

Welcome to the'Vine! The first time I was in Phoenix, it was 2005 and I was on my way to work a Los Angeles area NASCAR race at Fontana, California. I was awestricken on the size of Phoenix as I was peering out the window of a Boeing 737 as we prepared to land at your airport.

It is interesting how Phoenix gets most of it's water, if not all, from the Colorado River via an artificial waterway, the Central Arizona Project. Looking out an airplane window, that waterway stretches out further than the eye can see! I would think the summer water bill would match or exceed the summer electric bill if a home had a sodded yard in Phoenix.

One of the locals told me Phoenix screens out the tampons, toilet paper, Trojans and turds from the sanitary lines and then sprinkles the remaining sewage water on all the golf courses in town. That's how the grass at the Tournament Players Club golf course for the annual Phoenix Open in Scottsdale stays so healthy & green all year long!