Thread: new to locating

Default new to locating

Been working with engineering/surveying companies for about 10 years, started out just drafting but went towards the surveying side of the business, went thru the state apprenticeship program for surveyors and am working towards my license.

My current employer was taking a long hard look at what we were paying others for locates on our jobs....figured maybe we could save a substantial amount of money by bringing that work in house.

So thats my story. Im new to locating, just got back from the 5 day staking u course in Manteno. I feel pretty confident to get started so i will see what happens in the field! Will mostly be focusing on locates for our own projects for a while.

Years of Experience
    Blog Entries

Default Re: new to locating

Welcome to the world of finding stuff you can't see.

What did you think of the course? Not many people have posted about the Staking U course, if any. Just curious.
    "Change does not always equal progress."

Years of Experience
    20+

Quote Originally Posted by friction View Post
    Been working with engineering/surveying companies for about 10 years, started out just drafting but went towards the surveying side of the business, went thru the state apprenticeship program for surveyors and am working towards my license.

My current employer was taking a long hard look at what we were paying others for locates on our jobs....figured maybe we could save a substantial amount of money by bringing that work in house.

So thats my story. Im new to locating, just got back from the 5 day staking u course in Manteno. I feel pretty confident to get started so i will see what happens in the field! Will mostly be focusing on locates for our own projects for a while.