Thread: Just got out of training.

Default Just got out of training.

I just completed college and I found a job with USIC. Not even knowing what a Utility locating job was prior to this. I really liked my supervisor and met some of the team before I accepted the job offer. My question is this. I got started out at $16. I believe this is a pretty good start for a fresh 'noob' straight out of college with no experience? I was only getting $12-14 job offers because I have no working experience. Is this a good start or do USIC locators get paid much more?

I would like to move up in this company and everyone on my team is really good and cool. Every time I have a problem they will complete their ticket they're on and come to my locate within 15 minutes of my problem. My supervisor just has me on fence/tree tickets for the first few months to settle down. After training I did a week long ride a long with a locator with 10+ years and I thought I knew it all while I was with him but once I got on my own I freaked out and didn't even remember how to hook up to a drop in a ped. My supervisor put me back in a ride a long for a few days because he sensed I was stressed out and told me when I'm ready to be on my own, he will put me back out their.

I've been reading some really horrible stuff on this forum about USIC. Especially about pay/work hours. I asked the guys on the team if they've heard of this website and all have no clue. I then asked if they work long hours or weekends and they said if they want to just put in a 8 hour day and go home, they will but they like over time. Also, they all said we're staffed properly and no one ever has to work a weekend. Last time they had to work a weekend was when a HP gas pipe got hit on a Friday night 5 months ago...

Default Re: Just got out of training.

Quote Originally Posted by ctown View Post