Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I am a Locator want to be......

Wink I am a Locator want to be......

Hello all. Been enjoying your sight for a few weeks now and looking for some advice.......Applied to USIC and sucessfully completed my phone interview. I hadn't heard anything back so I followed up and was advised "there are no appointments available right now". They assured me they would be contacting me. I am very excited about this opportunity! Is this typical or do you think I may be fooling myself And although I have no locator experience, I am very eager to learn and become a locator. I currently work outside and have a spanking clean dmv and background. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I look forward to joining your brotherhood and thrive on putting in a good days work. Wishing you all well, Locatorwant2b

Senior Member ProfessionalLocator's Avatar
    Years of Experience

Default Re: I am a Locator want to be......

I cannot speak for that particular firm so I will talk generically.

Let's say they are sincere in their response to you, find you passed their interview but have no job openings at this time.

In most companies the interviews and hiring is not the primary job of the person doing them. That person is usually a supervisor of some sort like a foreman or higher management. With all the details of running a locate firm you will likely soon get lost as these are very busy people.

I worked at one firm where the foreman asked us locators to recommend people. We did, had them call the foreman as well as e-mail. Next week the foreman is asking if we know anybody. We gave him the same names back and told him to check his voice mail and e-mail, all these people left messages which he never returned. That is because hiring people is secondary, or even third, to the people doing the hiring. The foreman I mentioned is a good guy, works hard and is conciseness but over burdened with work.