Thread: Help a Noob with GPS / Bentley??

Default Help a Noob with GPS / Bentley??

Hello everyone!! Yup, I'm a super noob... to this forum and to locating!

I am a new utility locator, and need some help. In order to work faster, safer and more efficiently I need to improve my navigation.

I can drive anywhere, thats not the problem. What I am having trouble with is finding my location on the laptop. Does anyone out there use the Bentley Mobile Mapping Tool for finding what utilities are in your area??

We use it for our phone locates.

It is a beast to navigate, and takes me too long - going from one wire center to another, ect... ugh! The program seems like it is set up to let you hook a GPS to the laptop, has anyone done this and HOW?? I tried plugging my GPS into the laptop, and the laptop won't find it. HELP!! Thanks and have a great weekend!!

Years of Experience

Default Re: Help a Noob with GPS / Bentley??

Sorry I can't help with the GPS question but can you keep multiple windows open. I do this with my records. I'll keep 2-3 wire centers open at the same time because I go back and forth between them. Instead of switching wire centers on the program each time I just open the program again and keep them open.

As far as finding you're self of the prints that just takes time. I can open all my records faster than the computer will go. Practice,practice, and more practice is all that will help with finding you're exact location on the prints.

Years of Experience

Hey rider - Glad to have you on board! Please, post often and tell your buddies about us.

Just like Goldenboy, I keep my AT&T wire centers open on multiple Nerv windows. I use the Bentley window for my CATV maps. I use my old paper prints as an index to access page number which, for me, speeds up the search process considerably. Many times, just thumbing thru the paper prints for my older established neighborhoods is all I need w/o opening the Bentley.