Thread: Getting into the industry

Default Getting into the industry

Hello guys,

My name is Sean, I've been a surveyor for three years and our firm is looking to get into the utility locate business. We are located in Texas.

I just have a few questions. What does one have to do to start receiving locate tickets? Are there training or insurance requirements? How do we get our name "on the radar"?

I know that we may eventually provide a little competition in the industry, but a little information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Sean

Senior Member ProfessionalLocator's Avatar
    Years of Experience

Default Re: Getting into the industry

I am on the doing the marking end, not starting and running the firm.

You have to decide which part of the market you are going to start in, contract locating or SUE.

Contract locating is subcontracting to the utility firms and municipalities to mark their plant in accordance with the local call before you dig laws. This is usually a good sized start up effort and hard to do with no track record.

Then there is SUE which are private locates for proposed construction or feasibility studies of a site prior to purchase. This is a smaller start up and the most likely place to start getting a name in the industry. Right now many of these SUE firms are feeling a strong loss of business due to the poor economy, the demand is less. While contract locating is driven by local laws requiring it even they feel the lower number of locates called for. SUE work is very economy driven.

Thanks Pro.

That's good info. Just looking to get a foot in the door, you know what I mean? SUE seems reasonable for what we already have set up as a surveying firm.