Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: water mains

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    9

    Default water mains

    What frequencies do you use? It seems like I fight this locate way too much.

  2. #2
    Senior Member headcipher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    334
    Years of Experience
    14
    Rep Power
    24

    Default Re: water mains

    83 khz or 8.1khz. Good old 810 and 850 frequencies. I use the 810 most often, but the 850 carries further. 810 is still the best for inducing water, regardless of size and type.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: water mains

    I ended up using radio to locate this one. No place to ground to and too close to the transmitter for much of the locate when using induction. It did coresponde with each other at the furthest ends.

  4. #4
    Senior Member yahoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    4,111
    Years of Experience
    15
    Rep Power
    177

    Default Re: water mains

    what type of machine do you locate with???
    wise men talk because they have something to say and fools because they have to say something....plato

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: water mains

    Quote Originally Posted by yahoo View Post
    what type of machine do you locate with???
    5 watt Vivax proloc 1

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: water mains

    Vlocpro...is it still Monday?

  7. #7
    Member jdixon485's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Seatac, WA
    Posts
    32
    Years of Experience
    10
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: water mains

    (65khz+ typically) Metro tech 810 preferred. Signal is high enough to jump joints/flanges (Which you could use a higher frequency on other machines) But it induces so well, and in many cases with low access points, it will get the job done easily and quickly.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Turk182's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Stuck outside of Mobile with the Memphis blues again
    Posts
    311
    Years of Experience
    4
    Rep Power
    22

    Default Re: water mains

    Quote Originally Posted by Gettinit View Post
    I ended up using radio to locate this one. No place to ground to and too close to the transmitter for much of the locate when using induction. It did coresponde with each other at the furthest ends.
    Ground it to your truck, it works. You can also pour water on your ground lead and leave it in the puddle.

    I used an RD 4000 at 33kh without a lot of problems on water mains.

  9. #9
    Mke
    Mke is offline
    Senior Member Mke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Republic of Washington
    Posts
    1,542
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    34
    Rep Power
    78

    Default Re: water mains

    Not to beat it into the ground but..... 810. With that you have to give a nod to the Pipehorn as well, but the new one with the manual gain on it is a bit tricky to get used to.

    Also, how are you connecting to the water main.... if you are connecting?

    Mke

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: water mains

    Quote Originally Posted by Mke View Post
    Not to beat it into the ground but..... 810. With that you have to give a nod to the Pipehorn as well, but the new one with the manual gain on it is a bit tricky to get used to.

    Also, how are you connecting to the water main.... if you are connecting?

    Mke
    I don't know who this is directed at....I hook to the water meter if not using radio. If I have a way to get a fish tape in it I will hook to it for plastic. I have used a key to get down to the valve in the road. What do you guys do for a direct connect?

  11. #11
    Conservative Meanie ifinditunderground's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
    Posts
    1,809
    Years of Experience
    20
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    95

    Default Re: water mains

    By radio, do you mean Passive Radio?
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Mental Illness."
    "America isn't free, in America you are free to follow the rules." -Anthony Cumia


  12. #12
    Mke
    Mke is offline
    Senior Member Mke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Republic of Washington
    Posts
    1,542
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    34
    Rep Power
    78

    Default Re: water mains

    Exactly what you are doing, we connect to anything that is available, Hydrants, valves, meters, blow-offs, back flows, etc...

    If you comfortable enough to use passive mode to locate the water (which means you don't have any other utilities near the water line) you would be fine inducing on the line...... unfortunately induction is not the Vivax's strong point.

    mke

  13. #13
    Conservative Meanie ifinditunderground's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
    Posts
    1,809
    Years of Experience
    20
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    95

    Default Re: water mains

    This is the second post I have seen where Gettinit has mentioned locating water lines on "Radio Mode", the first being a copper water line, the second in this thread. I'm just curious how that works, if he is actually locating water mains on passive radio, or are we just having a mismatch in our terminology.
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Mental Illness."
    "America isn't free, in America you are free to follow the rules." -Anthony Cumia


  14. #14
    Senior Member headcipher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    334
    Years of Experience
    14
    Rep Power
    24

    Default Re: water mains

    I would never trust radio mode in a street or anywhere there were other facilities. Just asking for a hit.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: water mains

    Quote Originally Posted by ifinditunderground View Post
    By radio, do you mean Passive Radio?
    I will have to play a little ignorant and say I put in in "radio" on the receiver and locate with it by itself. It only seems to work with copper. I can't remember a time when galvanized was found using it. I will look into it to give you a better answer.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
A 'Rook Media' Website