Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Ferrum

Thread: Utiliquest really does suck!

Years of Experience

Default Utiliquest really does suck!

After browsing this forum for a bit, staying in the background and learning as I can, the one thing that really stands out is the angst that locators feel for Utiliquest.

I've been working for them for several years, and the first two years were very nice. No gps. No esketch. No micro-management by people that don't have a clue what they're talking about.

But I see that our area was just late to the party!!

We are consistently short-handed and have been for several years. It's not that they can't hire anyone, but that they can't hold onto them after they get out of training. Management is ragging new-hires hard about production and damages, conveniently ignoring that the guys haven't been in the field for even a year! What's that about?

Supervisors are so tied up with reports and meetings that they can't get out in the field to help these new guys during their on-the-job learning phase, and damages pour in. Why is a guy with two months of locating experience put on a high-profile ticket with fibers everywhere, and no supervisor around to help? And it's the locator's fault when something gets cut?

But then you have another guy that's buds with the regional manager. He can fail more than 30 audits and get some really stupid damages, and he's cool. Can't get fired no matter what he does!

And then there's the issue of pay. If the company acknowledges that the locators are the backbone of this endeavor, and it's the locators that make the company money, why don't they treat the locators like kings? Bust those chumps that aren't pulling their weight, and coddle those guys that are doing great. You have two or three small 'at fault' damages in a year, when you closed out over 5000 tickets, no big deal.

Instead, you have managers making a huge show about even the smallest damages and using that as an excuse to not give any raise.