Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: USIC Insurance Changes

Default USIC Insurance Changes

Well, being that I am just a locator's wife I may not know everything about this industry, BUT I am a nurse and the insurance changes are plain BS.

Looking into the new "plan", it has come to my attention (and based on my research), that we are all screwed.

Just a quick overview of HSA plans:

HSA plans basically provide coverage for medical, dental, and vision claims ONLY after you have met a huge (generally > $5,000, most chosen plans by employers looking to save a $ are $10,000) deductible.

You will pay a portion of the premium just like you are now, but it will be a much greater amount. The company will pay less towards your premium.

Additionally, you will "pay" into your HSA to pay for your claims. It would take a significant amount of time to ever reach your deductible before the insurance will even kick in.

In short, you might as well not have insurance coverage. Judging by the money (or lack there of) locators make, you will be choosing paying your rent/mortgage or paying your insurance.

I have found a few much better and much cheaper insurance plans that can be purchased on your own for around $100-200 per month with a $1,000-2,250 deductible, 100% coverage thereafter with the exception of some plans with copays that range from $25-35 per office visit. For 2 people the rates range from $200-350 per month. Families $275-450 per month.

A much smaller price to pay for even better insurance than you all have now. And certainly much smaller than you will be paying if you stay with the new insurance!

You can send me a message on here and I will be happy to privately email you more information.

Like I said before, I am a nurse, I have a little better perspective on this stuff!