Thread: Tool Pouches, Yay or Nay?

Default Tool Pouches, Yay or Nay?

Hey guys, I'm kinda new to the locating world and a few guys I work with carry pouches while others don't. I am wondering how many of y'all use them and what type do you use? I have looked at a few the Dewalt DG5101 Small Technician's pouch (Amazon.com: DEWALT DG5101 Small Technician's Pouch: Home Improvement) and the ToughBuilt TB-CTP-01022A ToughBuilt Technician's Pouch (Amazon.com: ToughBuilt TB-CTP-01022A ToughBuilt Technician's Pouch: Home Improvement). I know they're long names for a tool pouch but I like specifics. Any help or comments would be great.

Years of Experience
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Tool Pouches, Yay or Nay?

Personally, I've never used a tool pouch or thought of trying one. My bag that holds my transmitter has some pockets that work perfectly for holding all my tools.

It is easy to lose a tool out of a pouch and not notice it. The tools can get hooked on a bush or something and be pulled out without you knowing it. It will be lost and you will not know where it is. If you lose a tool out of your transmitter bag, 99% of the time the tool will be right where you left it. Next to the hook-up point.
    "Change does not always equal progress."

Mke
    Years of Experience
    Blog Entries

I've never gotten used to carrying a bag or pouch. I've tried and I have had bosses that have tried to make me, but to no avail I couldn't get used to it. Typically I'll have a surveyors vest on and they have more than enough pockets to hold anything I may use. I tend not to overload it. I have my can wrench, vault wrench, and a leather man. Thats about it. I have other tools, but those get me most of everything. If I need something else I'll go back to the truck to get it. If I have to hoof it to the locate area, I make sure I bring more. That usually consists of loading up the back pouch of the survey vest. ( Seco 8265 Series Class 2 Safety Vest with Outlast Collar and Mesh Back )

mke