Thread: For those of you in charge...

Mke
    Years of Experience
    Blog Entries

Default For those of you in charge...

I'm in a situation where I would like to bounce some ideas off of people in similar situations in the same field as I am in. I'm a lead tech who is in charge of a whopping....1 locator. We are in a wierd situation where we are a bit of both "one-call" locators and "Private" locators.

They guy i'm in charge of has quite a bit of years locating on me (about 6), and he could probably locate rings around most of the contract locators in the area. He, however, is lacking in some of the other skills that are needed and specifically spelled out in the Job description. Since i'm the only other locator in the company, I see most of these issues first hand and have found some issues with his locating as well. I've came to sites after he's located and found things that weren't marked, or more frequently things that were marked but wern't actually there. These things have only bit him in the arse a couple of times.

There has only been one incident that has came realllllly close to costing him his job. Over his 5 year span he has regularly occouring instances of poor judgement or lack of ability. Unbenounced to him, he is the butt of quite a few jokes around the office. Mostly dealing with his lack of commiting to a job being "Finished". He is always still working on it, so if there is a line that wasn't marked he could say "I told you I wasn't finished locating yet". I have personally seen him take a 30 minute cigerette brake, then imediately play the " I havn't gotten my OSHA regulated 15 minute morning break".