Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stresssss

Years of Experience

Default Stresssss

Does anyone else spend their day completely stressed out about their job? I spend my whole day stressed and worried that I'm not doing something right. I am always waiting for that phone call that tells me I screwed something up. I am fairly new to this having only about 8 months under my belt. When I do get them calls for an emergency for somewhere that I located I get sick to my stomach. Late last week I pulled over and threw up on my way to a cut phone line. I was so flippin nervous. Is this normal? Does it pass with more experience?

Default Re: Stresssss

I was the same way when I first started. The most important thing to remember is that its just a job. Not worth your health. It took me a little over a year to get settled in. After 15 years in the business I still got butterflys in my stomach when I heard about a damage. Damages happen to the best of us. Its part of the business. But remember we as locators are only as good as our equipment.

Mke
    Years of Experience
    Blog Entries

I'm heading into my 12th year, I wish I could tell you that the feeling disappears but it doesn't. Its always there. You learn to deal with it though. It will go from an excruciating pain to a dull aching pain with time. but its always there.

Mke

Years of Experience

I'm deep into my 15th year in the locating bizz. It's hard to explain the horrible feeling that comes with a liable damage.That being said, if just getting a call on a damage makes you vomit without even knowing if it's a liable or not, you may be in the wrong profession.

Years of Experience

All of what was said, and on top of that are the nightmares. After 8 years doing this, I still have dreams about me not being sure if I found every damn cable and did I understand the entire scope of the ticket???
    I just had one the other night! It made me think about it all day...

Years of Experience
    17 years