Thread: Splices, Connections, and other details

Question Splices, Connections, and other details

I'm actually looking for someone to detail the process of communication cable connections. I'm a civil engineer and not an installer, but a recent project is requiring me to update plans detailing how a splice and a few other connections would look. The client would like to see something drawn in CAD for each connection.

The other connections include pedestals, crossbox, aerial to buried, and buried to aerial. Thanks for any help.

Default Re: Splices, Connections, and other details

I bet it varies from company to company (or regional ?)..
    In our plant; peds are shown as a triangle, crossboxes are a rectangle with an X thru it, aerial cable is a solid line and buried is a dashed line (theres different colours for direct buried or in a duct).
    A transition from one size cable to another (or aerial to buried etc) is done with an arrow point. the base of the arrow can be moved off the line to put length and year installed if they want.

Splices are usually just a dot. You interpret the splice config by observing the incoming and outgoing counts (displayed parallel to the cable lines)
    (May you live in interesting times)

I think I might have attached this image right not sure.

This is a print for one of my area's. Here in this one there is multiple fibers and direct buried copper AT&T lines. As you can see there is a few splices indicated here, along with ped's, repeaters, ect.
    Last edited by TheCableVine; August 10th, 2010 at 09:18 PM.

Years of Experience

Damn...that's a nice AT&T print!

The crap we have here MIGHT show the cables in the general vicinity of where the roads are...maybe...then again, one of the cables shown may actually be 2 streets over.
    Character is what you are in the dark. It is the things you do, when nobody can see, and nobody will ever know, that define who you are as an individual.