Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Reliable Locating Machines: What is the best one to buy?

Default Reliable Locating Machines: What is the best one to buy?

hello,

I worked as a Locator for nearly a year in Alberta (mainly in 2008-09), but have been employed as a Land Surveyor for the last couple of years.

While I was working for the line locating company, we usually used the Fuji 960, which I personally liked. While working as a surveyor, we have used three locators. The Fuji 960, the Metrotech 810, the DitchWitch (unsure what type), and the 3M locator. Of all the locators I have used, I find the 3M to be not that great at locating inductively. I'm not sure if it is me, or the settings I use, but I find it really frustrating locating u/g utilities on sweeps.

I just found out that our company is going to rent or buy some "Fisher" locators (not sure which brand). My question is: has anyone used Fisher Locators, and what locator would you recommend if I was in the market to personally buy my own, and rent it out to companies? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Mke
    Years of Experience
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Reliable Locating Machines: What is the best one to buy?

Hey Cowboy,

If you are looking at a locator for induction purposes, i'd recomend either the 810 (which you have, and I personally use) or the Piphorn. They are comparable to each other on the ability to Induce a utility.

As for the other "bells and whistles" locators.... I think there will be other people then me with more personal experience with them.

As for the Fisher locators, there are a few to choose from, not sure which one your guys are looking at. I've personally used the Split box from Fisher and it worked rather nice.