Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question by New Participant on Water Leak Detection

Default Question by New Participant on Water Leak Detection

I know this is a forum focused on locating underground utilities.

Curious to know if any participants are involved in leak detection?

If so I have some questions on some leak detection equipment - in particular introduction of helium or 5% hydrogen into water lines - where one uses a gas sniffer, above grade, to locate the leak.

If anyone is familiar with this kind of locating and detection, I'd appreciate hearing.

Years of Experience

Default Re: Question by New Participant on Water Leak Detection

Ive used helium to locate leaks in air core phone cables but not water lines. Is it not possible to use a triangulator?

Years of Experience
    30+

I am no expert on the make up (characteristic) of helium or 5% hydrogen, but you cannot introduce air into a water system. You will cause an air blockage. That is the reason you have air relief valves on water and force main.

Years of Experience
    17 years

Quote Originally Posted by UULC View Post
    I am no expert on the make up (characteristic) of helium or 5% hydrogen, but you cannot introduce air into a water system. You will cause an air blockage. That is the reason you have air relief valves on water and force main.
    I think you're right. Wouldn't you have to have to purge the system of water first?

This new process involves isolation of the water line from the water system, and then plugging each end of the pipe with inflatable plugs on the id of the pipe. If one end terminates at a house main valve etc., you can just close that main, and remove the meter on the other end.