Thread: Paint Nozzle Freezing

Years of Experience
    30+

Default Paint Nozzle Freezing

I know this has been discussed before about cans freezing in the back of the truck but what about nozzle's? I am new to locating in the extremely cold, freezing and snow. We had our first snow monday and tuesday. I put my cans on the floor board of the truck. I had my wand and a can of paint in it. The tip kept clogging and I would have to pull out the Leatherman to clear it. Is this the was it will be all winter long?

Thanks,

Default Re: Paint Nozzle Freezing

It sounds like the paint can wasn't shaken up well before use. With the extreme cold, you will need to shake the paint prior to using each time, just to make sure it is distributed well. If it is really cold, you may find that you will have to change out paint cans during the locate to keep the paint flowing. It would be best, if you have not already done so, to store extra paint in your house so it doesn't have to thaw out every day and then just keep what you will be using for the day in the front of the cab. Hope that helps.

Years of Experience
    30+

Thanks, Gypsylgirl

This is my first winter out of Florida and a new experience. Painting snow just don't seem right. Done it in a lot of rain but never snow.