Thread: New to locating have a few general questions

Default New to locating have a few general questions

Hi I am new to locating, and had a few general questions that you seasons pros shpuld be able to ansewr for me :-0
    these may sound silly but i have to ask.
    1) How do the frequencies work?
    I just bought a used vivax vloc pro and there are so many different frequency options. I use this locator for 2 things locating water service lines and sewer sondes.

2) sometimes i have to trace a water line 1000 feet what is the best frequency to use in this instance?
    from what I understand the higher the number say 200khz will trace further than say 83khz

Senior Member ProfessionalLocator's Avatar
    Years of Experience

Default Re: New to locating have a few general questions

Quote Originally Posted by ryanferrell221 View Post
    Hi I am new to locating, and had a few general questions that you seasons pros shpuld be able to ansewr for me :-0
    these may sound silly but i have to ask.
    1) How do the frequencies work?
    I just bought a used vivax vloc pro and there are so many different frequency options. I use this locator for 2 things locating water service lines and sewer sondes.

2) sometimes i have to trace a water line 1000 feet what is the best frequency to use in this instance?
    from what I understand the higher the number say 200khz will trace further than say 83khz
    The lower the frequency the greater distance you can locate.

Sometimes there is a 'poor' spot in what you are locating. Here a higher frequency will 'jump' the gap cased by a poor connection or corroded conductor.

The higher the frequency the greater the risk of the signal bleeding off on another utility.

the ViVax VlocPor is a great design but I have found the construction, made in China, to be poor quality and prone to failure. You will need some other piece of equipment to use while that one goes into the shop for repairs.

Years of Experience
    Blog Entries