Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Metrotech 810

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Metrotech 810

    Okay, I have a complete Metrotech 810 transmitter and the 4820 clamp for it also. I was wondering if any one could tell me how to test the transmitter and the clamp to see if it works properly? I have new batteries in both units and they both power up fine. Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks, Mike

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Metrotech 810

    Or, does any one have a 810 users manual or a link to one to download.

    Mike

  3. #3
    Senior Member FiosKing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Way North
    Posts
    254
    Years of Experience
    100
    Rep Power
    20

    Default Re: Metrotech 810

    best way to test it is to see if it locates... go hook up to a cable and follow it and see if its true
    "What Are You Doin!?!? GET THE HELL OFF MY LAWN!"
    you have entered a restricted area

  4. #4
    Mke
    Mke is offline
    Senior Member Mke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Republic of Washington
    Posts
    1,536
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    34
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: Metrotech 810

    uhh, you got the complete transmitter, what about the reciever?

  5. #5
    Mke
    Mke is offline
    Senior Member Mke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Republic of Washington
    Posts
    1,536
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    34
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: Metrotech 810

    sorry for the hokie question, but there is only one reason to have a transmitter and no reciever.

    mke

  6. #6
    Conservative Meanie ifinditunderground's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
    Posts
    1,808
    Years of Experience
    20
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    93

    Default Re: Metrotech 810

    Yeah, are you in Virginia....? I got one stolen three weeks ago.
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Mental Illness."
    "America isn't free, in America you are free to follow the rules." -Anthony Cumia


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Metrotech 810

    NOPE, not stolen. Just a find in a abandoned storage. I have everything, trtansmitter, receiver, a set of jumper wires, a 4890 clamp and case.

    Mike

  8. #8
    Member animal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    around
    Posts
    81
    Years of Experience
    15+
    Rep Power
    13

    Default Re: Metrotech 810

    and a glue spot where it used to say belonged to?

    i also lost one of those

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Metrotech 810

    Okay, if it's going to be a big deal, then nevermind! I don't need to hear about everyone losses. I got a PS3 and a XBOX 360 stolen while I was on vacation in August. Any of your kids have either of these! Thanks anyways.

    Mike

  10. #10
    Senior Member Wingfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    4,405
    Years of Experience
    20
    Rep Power
    189

    Default Re: Metrotech 810

    Quote Originally Posted by idragrace View Post
    NOPE, not stolen. Just a find in a abandoned storage. I have everything, transmitter, receiver, a set of jumper wires, a 4890 clamp and case.

    Mike
    Hey dragracer - Welcome Aboard to the'Vine! I also am a lover of the sport of drag racing - sanctioned and un-sanctioned.

    Hot or Not - Any questions you need answered about your 810 set-up should be directed to:



    Corporate Sales Office
    Metrotech Corporation, 3251 Olcott St., Santa Clara, CA 95054, USA,
    Phone (408)734-1400 or (800)446-3392
    Fax (408)734-1415

    ---------------------------------------------------

    Pennsylvania Sales Office
    89 S Commerce Way, Suite 940, Bethlehem, PA 18017, USA,
    Phone (610)861-1996 or (866)644-8537
    Fax (610)861-1935

    Corporate Sales : sales@metrotech.com

    --------------------------------------------

  11. #11
    Senior Member yahoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,908
    Years of Experience
    15
    Rep Power
    167

    Default Re: Metrotech 810

    good luck dude!!!!
    wise men talk because they have something to say and fools because they have to say something....plato

  12. #12
    Conservative Meanie ifinditunderground's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
    Posts
    1,808
    Years of Experience
    20
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    93

    Default Re: Metrotech 810

    Relax Drag, hook it up to a simple utility service at your house, like your electric riser, telephone service wire or CATV service wire with the clamp and see if it locates the utilities correctly.

    Two really quick tests:

    Clamp your induction clamp around the stem between the two antenna arrays and look for a signal better than 980 on the receiver. Remove clamp and move it away from the stem, the signal should drop significantly.

    Plug in your direct connects to the Transmitter, hook the black and red clips together and lay them on the floor in a large loop and move the receiver over the wires back and forth several times. The needle should center over the wire and again you should have a signal higher than 980 that drops significantly once you move away. Keep the reciever away from the transmitter while doing this.

    If the unit passes these two tests, then take it out and clamp in on an easy, relatively isolated service line at your house.

    Hope this helps.
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Mental Illness."
    "America isn't free, in America you are free to follow the rules." -Anthony Cumia


  13. #13
    Senior Member GODFATHER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    130
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: Metrotech 810

    Quote Originally Posted by ifinditunderground View Post

    Plug in your direct connects to the Transmitter, hook the black and red clips together and lay them on the floor in a large loop and move the receiver over the wires back and forth several times. The needle should center over the wire and again you should have a signal higher than 980 that drops significantly once you move away. Keep the reciever away from the transmitter while doing this.
    Bingo thats exactly what I was gonna say to do. I still have my 810 from back in the late 90's and everyone wants to steal it from me LOL. Supervisors included.... I love that thing but its not for beginners as you will send a signal down everything in the ground LOL!
    C.Y.A. like everyone is out to screw you and ya will be fine!!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by big boots mcghee View Post
    Like I said, welcome to the world's largest locating company, one that's full of piss poor communication, dogshit planning, and mistreated slaves, err, employees.

  14. #14
    Senior Member sprayandpray's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    2,120
    Rep Power
    94

    Default Re: Metrotech 810

    Quote Originally Posted by idragrace View Post
    Okay, I have a complete Metrotech 810 transmitter and the 4820 clamp for it also. I was wondering if any one could tell me how to test the transmitter and the clamp to see if it works properly? I have new batteries in both units and they both power up fine. Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks, Mike
    If you want, just send it to me , postage paid, and I will try it out and send it back if it works. If it doesn't , I'll just toss it for you!
    I might not be as good as I once was, but I'm as good once as I ever was !


    It's better to be Pissed Off than Pissed On or Stood On and Pissed Off Of !


    The views expressed on this website/blog are mine alone and do not reflect the views of my employer. or my wife , if that matters.

  15. #15
    Conservative Meanie ifinditunderground's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
    Posts
    1,808
    Years of Experience
    20
    Blog Entries
    1
    Rep Power
    93

    Default Re: Metrotech 810

    Quote Originally Posted by sprayandpray View Post
    If you want, just send it to me , postage paid, and I will try it out and send it back if it works. If it doesn't , I'll just toss it for you!
    Funny Spray.
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Mental Illness."
    "America isn't free, in America you are free to follow the rules." -Anthony Cumia


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •