Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: Input please on this simple locate

Years of Experience

Default Input please on this simple locate

I would welcome some experienced input on this relative small, but important matter.

I am an Exterior Contractor doing a variety or mainly residential outside projects. I have added simple locating (residential as it applies to home-projects) as one of my services recently and use a VlocPro2 by Metrotech and have got mainly reliable results finding gas, power, comms, drainage and water.

I am gaining experience and hoping to move into Locating fulltime in the coming year as I really enjoy it and see its growing need in our area. But I am not naive to think I know any more than I do. I know there is tons to learn only through experience. To do this, I locate as frequently as possible, even if not part of the job. I also train with a Utility Contractor after-hours.

So... wondering if I can get some input on this one aspect of a project I am on. We know absolutely for sure there is an electrical line between house and garage, then garage and shed per sketch below. I machine-dug the trenches for them 3 years ago as part of the renov. Power runs from the house panel to a smaller panel in the garage for the whole garage that serves as office. Garage/Shed line then feeds out from Garage panel to a panel in the shed. The house/garage and garage/shed lines are in fairly close proximity underground for the section approaching garage, and feed through same hole in wall.

yard-21432.jpg

I get a perfect signal on the house/garage line (red in sketch) to garage panel no matter what hookup I use, even induction. On my receiver, all aspects of detection work perfectly including peak/analogue reading, audio, left/right arrows, line direction indicator, and depth. Even if I do a direct by clamping the metal panel in either garage or shed, this main line (shielded cable) from house to garage lights up great per pic below...