Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Taggert

Thread: Evolution/Revolution

Years of Experience

Default Evolution/Revolution

So I'm a few beers deep and feel like this is the only place that I can post. I've been locating for the last 4 years in Oregon, at one point I switched to the dark side and went to work for a contractor, North Sky Communications. Came back to Locating Inc (Utiliquest/Dycom), now I'm the Lead Tech in my area. I was informed today that the State Utility Council was choosing to audit the locators contracted by the gas company and I was selected as the local sacrifical lamb for my area. I'm torn personally, between being honest with everyone in earshot that contract locating is the worst thing possible for public safety vs keeping my job. I personally feel that either the utility companies pull the work in house with the proper pay and training, or the state steps in with a certification program. I don't know how other states do it, but anyone with a drivers license can be a locator here, its appalling and I say that as someone who started in this industry with no experience. My training consisted of one week of Powerpoint and a hook up to a nearby gas meter, after which the trainer took the Metro tech 810 from my hand, crossed himself, and said "You are now a Locator my son." I shit you not. The next day was 30 tickets in a town I had never been to. Point of the story is, what do you salty bastards think? Is the future of locating to stay the way it is, or will the government get involved? I personally think someone will get killed here in my state due to a bad locate and the whole rotten house of cards that is contract locating will come down.
    UULC likes this.

Senior Member CableAvoidanceTool's Avatar
    Years of Experience

Default Re: Evolution/Revolution