Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Best frequency for locating fibers

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    129
    Years of Experience
    3
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Best frequency for locating fibers

    I'm currently a locator for just a fiber optic all tho I have three years experience I have located everything. I know everyone has different advice and their way of doing things and what I have learned from locating is no matter how many years I have the veteran paint slingers usually wow me every time I work with them or talk to them. I will usually couple a fiber in 131 and direct connect in 8. What do you thinks bad about that and how do you do it.

  2. #2
    Senior Member superman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    397
    Years of Experience
    18
    Rep Power
    20

    Default Re: Best frequency for locating fibers

    I would only be running 131 if I'm having trouble or verifying something. You need to find a DC point a go that route with low frequency. Low travels farther anyways.


    Quote Originally Posted by Teddy121 View Post
    I will usually couple a fiber in 131 and direct connect in 8. What do you thinks bad about that and how do you do it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    129
    Years of Experience
    3
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Best frequency for locating fibers

    Well I try to the most I can. It's just usually I'm at the same address as usic, water depth etc and it's usually hard to get a frequency when the common three or already taken I'm usually used to using the lowest possible. Just curious.

  4. #4
    Senior Member yahoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    3,912
    Years of Experience
    15
    Rep Power
    167

    Default Re: Best frequency for locating fibers

    what machine to you locate with ??
    wise men talk because they have something to say and fools because they have to say something....plato

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    189
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Best frequency for locating fibers

    never heard of 131. highest I go is 8 lowest I go is 8. go ground cases, tracers where ever needed and you should never ever ever have a problem locating any fiber no matter the make or size. unless its 30 feet deep of course.
    UULC likes this.

  6. #6
    Senior Member superman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    397
    Years of Experience
    18
    Rep Power
    20

    Default Re: Best frequency for locating fibers

    131 is used with the RD 8000. You will have problems when coupling a fiber. Just not enough material for good signal strength. Just doesn't make much sense to do that if you can direct connect to the sheath or splice case.

    Quote Originally Posted by fiberlocator99 View Post
    never heard of 131. highest I go is 8 lowest I go is 8. go ground cases, tracers where ever needed and you should never ever ever have a problem locating any fiber no matter the make or size. unless its 30 feet deep of course.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    189
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Best frequency for locating fibers

    direct connect or nothing. low gain strong milliamps = perfect locate.

  8. #8
    Premium Member daman1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Off the deep end
    Posts
    1,125
    Years of Experience
    17 years
    Rep Power
    54

    Default Re: Best frequency for locating fibers

    Quote Originally Posted by fiberlocator99 View Post
    direct connect or nothing. low gain strong milliamps = perfect locate.
    Never had much luck clamping fibers. I've had tons of fiber pits where the crew didn't hook the test leads up. Just placed a test stand and ran. Makes locating a pain.

  9. #9
    Senior Member ProfessionalLocator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,316
    Years of Experience
    20
    Rep Power
    103

    Default Re: Best frequency for locating fibers

    Quote Originally Posted by fiberlocator99 View Post
    direct connect or nothing. low gain strong milliamps = perfect locate.
    Occasionaly out in the country i have come across old FO that has a metal sheath. Where there is a loop of FO which allows clamping the cable where you can fet around it six ties in one location I have had some good tone. Still far better to direct connect. I tried that first rather than cut into the cable.

  10. #10
    Senior Member superman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    397
    Years of Experience
    18
    Rep Power
    20

    Default Re: Best frequency for locating fibers

    How do you locate it if it has no sheath? Is there tracer everywhere in your area? 99% of my fiber has armor.

    Quote Originally Posted by ProfessionalLocator View Post
    Occasionaly out in the country i have come across old FO that has a metal sheath.
    UULC likes this.

  11. #11
    Mke
    Mke is offline
    Senior Member Mke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Republic of Washington
    Posts
    1,538
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    34
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: Best frequency for locating fibers

    Quote Originally Posted by superman View Post
    How do you locate it if it has no sheath? Is there tracer everywhere in your area? 99% of my fiber has armor.
    I'd Say 75% of the fiber where i'm at is shielded. The other 25% is not. Out of that 25% I'd have to say about 20% does not have tracerwire. We had to argue withe the FAA to leave the old Copper cables in the other conduits just to keep the duct bank locateable. They proceeded to cut the cable right at the wall so the only way to locate it is to induce away from the vault.

    Go figure

    mke

  12. #12
    Senior Member UULC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,117
    Years of Experience
    30+
    Rep Power
    57

    Default Re: Best frequency for locating fibers

    I am lucky. I locate XO and I about 90% of the plant installed with new copper #12 tracer wire with Fink markers. XO use to have that shit Verizon put into the ground. That mule tracer wire. It was put in in 1999-2000 and after being under water you grab the mule tape and it breaks. The only thing VZ did different was use a 1/2" wide mule while XO used 1/4" mule tracer.

    I also Locate Crown Castle and the only way to locate it is find a splice case that have ground wires and hook up there. I have found even with a metal sheath a ring clamp just does not get it. On a large fiber 216 or bigger then it will tone out.

    I have a few trick but I will never put it in writing.
    daman1 and superman like this.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    129
    Years of Experience
    3
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Best frequency for locating fibers

    Quote Originally Posted by yahoo View Post
    what machine to you locate with ??
    I use an RD 7000

  14. #14
    Premium Member daman1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Off the deep end
    Posts
    1,125
    Years of Experience
    17 years
    Rep Power
    54

    Default Re: Best frequency for locating fibers

    Quote Originally Posted by UULC View Post
    I have a few trick but I will never put it in writing.
    I've had to use a few desperation tricks. Hey, at least nothing got hit.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    129
    Years of Experience
    3
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Best frequency for locating fibers

    Well the fiber i locate for our prints arent very good. They show no HH or where a splice might be. So when I find HH if im lucky its a splice and im not very lucky so I just take what I got. With that being said about 70% of our stuff isnt sheath so i couple when I can. Usually my stuff just has a tracer wire old stuff has basically speaker wire. The new stuff has good tracer like plastic gas has. Just my problem is USIC along with some other people are usually at the same place same time as me and im running out of freq that will tone well with my hookup being down the road.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •