Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: 8inch fios box

  1. #1
    Member radiotechfios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    indi
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    9

    Default 8inch fios box

    Does anyone know if they make a tool to open 8" fios round ped box?

  2. #2
    Mke
    Mke is offline
    Senior Member Mke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Republic of Washington
    Posts
    1,538
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    34
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: 8inch fios box

    uhhh, 3lb sledge?

    mke

  3. #3
    Senior Member ProfessionalLocator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,316
    Years of Experience
    20
    Rep Power
    102

    Default Re: 8inch fios box

    Quote Originally Posted by radiotechfios View Post
    Does anyone know if they make a tool to open 8" fios round ped box?
    There are so many different thing out there it would take some more info. Like can you post a photo of one? Describe the lock?

  4. #4
    Member radiotechfios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    indi
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: 8inch fios box

    I have the ped key ,i just want to know if theres a tool to 1/2 twist the top.i alway use my finger and a screw driver but that only works on a nice perfect sunny day not when is cold out.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 31lt7d-dtol__sl500_aa252_.jpg  

  5. #5
    Mke
    Mke is offline
    Senior Member Mke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Republic of Washington
    Posts
    1,538
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    34
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: 8inch fios box

    ahhh, 8" Irr box. screwdriver and fingers are probably the best, I usually have my leatherman and a Screwdriver......

    For cold weather........ does it freeze up on you and prevents the 1/2 twist?

    mke

  6. #6
    Member radiotechfios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    indi
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: 8inch fios box

    Yes,frozen dirt gets in around ped box and dosent allow it to twist.The reason i ask, is because an ex-verizon worker told me they have a u-bolt looking tool that makes it easy to open.Good idea mke, 3lb sledge hammer and breaking it sounds great when you have 30 tickets due,funny
    I was thinking of fabricating a tool if they dont sell one. Thank you

  7. #7
    Administrator TheCableVine's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    2,943
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    134

    Default Re: 8inch fios box

    ebay is always a good place to look for that kind of thing.
    "Change does not always equal progress."

  8. #8
    Senior Member ProfessionalLocator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,316
    Years of Experience
    20
    Rep Power
    102

    Default Re: 8inch fios box

    Quote Originally Posted by radiotechfios View Post
    Yes,frozen dirt gets in around ped box and dosent allow it to twist.The reason i ask, is because an ex-verizon worker told me they have a u-bolt looking tool that makes it easy to open.Good idea mke, 3lb sledge hammer and breaking it sounds great when you have 30 tickets due,funny
    I was thinking of fabricating a tool if they dont sell one. Thank you
    I was in the unfortunate situation where the client used different types of locks and keys. For whatever reason our company did not have all the different types.

    Hammer time was the only way to get the job done.

  9. #9
    Junior Member skwardog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    J Hoffa's Swamp
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: 8inch fios box

    The best tool is a Razor Back. Just pry it off with spade shovel. Do it all the time, never broke one.

  10. #10
    Mke
    Mke is offline
    Senior Member Mke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Republic of Washington
    Posts
    1,538
    Years of Experience
    16
    Blog Entries
    34
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: 8inch fios box

    I've had a couple freeze up on me, or jam with dirt, I'm not sure how a "U" shaped tool would be able to lock onto the lid. The two finger holes don't have anything to grab on to. I'm not sure what else would be able to work better then a screwdriver.

    In cold weather that plastic is alot more brittle so would break alot easier then it would otherwise.

    mke

  11. #11
    Member radiotechfios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    indi
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: 8inch fios box

    yes, screw driver and ped tool work pretty good ,im going to try the spade shovel tomorrow, i forgot about ebay, going to check it out. Thank you guys

  12. #12
    Senior Member 1idejim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    state of Jefferson
    Posts
    181
    Years of Experience
    lifetime
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: 8inch fios box

    slip joint pliers and a screwdriver,

    handles in the holes,
    twist with screwdriver
    opens every one, every time
    You Can't Fix It Till You Find It - Jim 3:23

  13. #13
    Senior Member GPGrasshopper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    318
    Rep Power
    21

    Default Re: 8inch fios box

    Just out of curiousity, is the 8" circular box common? In my area, it's nothing but fiberglass or concrete handholes. Verizon does not use anything else.
    I seek not to know the answers, but to understand the questions.

  14. #14
    Member radiotechfios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    indi
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: 8inch fios box

    They only use the 8inch box for crossing with a sevice line only, no main.
    Last edited by radiotechfios; February 17th, 2010 at 12:24 AM.

  15. #15
    Member radiotechfios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    indi
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: 8inch fios box

    They only use the 8inch box for crossing with a sevice line only, no main.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •